Black History

"The Black Freedom Struggle website is freely available. ... The site covers several time periods in American history ... Slavery and the Abolitionist Movement (1790-1860) ... The Civil War and the Reconstruction Era (1861-1877) ... Jim Crow Era from 1878 to the Great Depression (1878-1932) ... The New Deal and World War II (1933-1945) ... The Civil Rights and Black Power Movements (1946-1975) ... The Contemporary Era (1976-2000)" --- ProQuest

Provides a large array of links to primary and secondary source materials from the National Archives, other federal agencies, and non-federal websites.

Categories include Black Power, Legal Battles, Nonviolent Protest, Organizations, Resistance and Backlash, and Women's Leadership. Additional collections in DPLA include Busing and Desegregation in Boston, Civil Rights in Mississippi, Voting Rights Act of 1965.

The Moorland Springarn Research Center is "one of the world’s premiere centers for the study of the Black experience. It has made possible new research and enabled scholars to probe more deeply into the complexities of Black history and culture." --- Howard University

HistoryMakers is "a unique digital repository of video oral histories that captures an admirable depth and variety of African American heritage. Billed as “The Nation’s Largest African American Video Oral History Collection,” the HistoryMakers Digital Archive is a veritable treasure trove produced by The HistoryMakers organization, a non-profit educational institution that is “committed to preserving and making widely accessible the untold personal stories of both well-known and unsung African Americans." --- Northwestern University Pritzker School of Law

"The digital collections of the Library of Congress contain a wide variety of primary source materials lated to slavery, including photographs, documents, and sound recordings. Provided below is a link to the home page for each relevant digital collection along with selected highlights." --- Library of Congress

The African-American Voices of the Cedar Valley Oral History Project provides information about the historical and contemporary development of African-American culture and community and informs the public of important events and issues of African-American communities in the Cedar Valley Iowa area.