Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
eLearning | Email| | Ask Us! | Contact Us | About Us | Research | Find Articles & Books

ELEMECML 3164 - Teaching Elementary School Social Studies

Resources for various sections of ELEMECML 3164 are sorted by instructor's last name.

A Women's War Too (National Archives)

A Woman's War Too: U.S. Women in the Military in World War II - edited by Paula Nassen Poulos - published 1996 - National Archives

WAVES in Naval Aviation Activities

WAVES in Naval Aviation Activities - published 1943 by the Navy Department

The Women's Army Corps (Study 1954)

The Women's Army Corps - Special Study - 1954 - Mattie Treadwell - Department of the Army

Branches of Women’s Service in World War II

Air Force

WAF = Women in the Air Force (program)

WAFS = Women's Auxiliary Ferrying Squadron

WASP = Women Airforce Service Pilots

        =    Women’s Army Service Pilots

        =    Women’s Auxiliary Service Pilots

 

WFTD = Women’s Flying Training Detachment

 

(from Poulos, Paula Nassen. A Woman's War Too: U.S. Women In the Military In World War II. Washington, DC: National Archives and Records Administration, 1996.  https://catalog.hathitrust.org/Record/004540596).

 

Army

 

ANC = Army Nurse Corps

 

WAACS = Women's Army Auxiliary Corps

 

WACS = Women’s Army Corps


(from Poulos, Paula Nassen. A Woman's War Too: U.S. Women In the Military In World War II. Washington, DC: National Archives and Records Administration, 1996.  https://catalog.hathitrust.org/Record/004540596).

 

 

Coast Guard

 

SPARS    =    United States Coast Guard Women’s Reserve

SPARS is derived from the Latin motto of the USCG - Semper Paratus

Semper Paratus means "always ready".

 

(information taken from a 1942 Cedar Rapids Gazette clipping archived in the University of Iowa Digital Collection - http://digital.lib.uiowa.edu/cdm/ref/collection/wwii/id/2037




 

Marine Corps

 

Marine Corps Women’s Reserve

 

(from Poulos, Paula Nassen. A Woman's War Too: U.S. Women In the Military In World War II. Washington, DC: National Archives and Records Administration, 1996.  https://catalog.hathitrust.org/Record/004540596).




 

Navy

 

WAVES    =    Women Accepted for Volunteer Emergency Service

 

AKA Women’s Reserve
AKA United States Naval Reserve


(from Poulos, Paula Nassen. A Woman's War Too: U.S. Women In the Military In World War II. Washington, DC: National Archives and Records Administration, 1996.  https://catalog.hathitrust.org/Record/004540596).