Research Guides: Marketing: ENTR 3586

ENTR 3586: Entrepreneurial Strategy

OR marketing OR advertising either word may appear

NOT marketing NOT social media finds marketing and eliminates those with social media

* advertis* finds advertise, advertisement, advertising, etc.

" " "social media" searches for the entire phrase

w5 "analysis" W5 find* W5 consumer
within five words of each other (EBSCO databases)

w/5 "new location" W/5 find! W/5 consumer
within five words of each other (Nexis Uni)

near5 "new location" near5 find* W5 consumer
within five words of each other (ProQuest databases)

Industry Information Research Guide
This guide provides you with a starting point for researching companies.
Company Information Research Guide

Bureau of Labor Statistics Midwest Information
This U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics program collects and distributes data on the buying habits of U.S. consumers. Tracks expenditures for specific products, such as fresh fruits, by consumers in various demographic categories. Includes Consumer Price Index.

Mintel Academic This link opens in a new window
Mintel produces hundreds of reports into European, UK-specific and US consumer markets every year. Each report that Mintel publishes provides an overview of a market's dynamics and prospects.
ABI/INFORM Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
"The ABI/INFORM Collection is comprised of ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline. The collection features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as The Economist and Sloan Management Review, country-and industry-focused reports, and major news sources like the Wall Street Journal." Several datasets are also available.
Business Market Research Collection This link opens in a new window
Find up to date proprietary editorial content covering public and non-public companies and key executives.
Business Source Elite (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Provides the full text of nearly 4,000 peer-reviewed journals, business magazines, and trade journals; profiles of more than 1 million companies; and more than 10,000 industry and market reports.

U.S. Census Business Builder
The Census Business Builder (CBB) is a suite of services that provide selected demographic and economic data from the Census Bureau tailored to specific types of users in a simple to access and use format. Use Regional Analyst Edition. WARNING: not all data is available at the Block Group, Tract, County or even State level.

Census Reporter
"Census Reporter is an independent project to make data from the American Community Survey easier to use. We are unaffiliated with the U.S. Census Bureau." Use the Profile option to find basic demographic and economic data for a given geographic location. Use the Explore option to identify possible data of interest - then type in a geographic location. Use the Topics options to locate Census Tables - choose a table - then type in a geographic location.

Explore Census Data by Data.Census.gov
Choose Tables - then choose FILTER - then choose Topics and choose one of ten topics and one or more choices under that topic - then choose Done - the choose CUSTOMIZE TABLE - then choose GEOS - then choose Geography level - then choose the area or areas of interest.- then click on Excel.
WARNING: not all data is available at the Block Group, Tract, County or even State level.

Pew Research Center
A nonpartisan American think tank providing information on social issues, public opinion, and demographic trends shaping the United States and the world.

Population Reference Bureau (PBR)
PBR uses a variety of approaches to connect data users with data producers. PRB analyzes and disseminates information about populations and their health and well-being so it can be used to inform decisions that improve lives around the world.

ProPublica
ProPublica is an independent, nonprofit newsroom that produces investigative journalism with moral force.

Advertising Age (ProQuest)
Use the "Sorted by" option at the top-left corner of the results page to switch to "Most recent first"
Adweek (ProQuest)
Use the "Sorted by" option at the top-left corner of the results page to switch to "Most recent first"
Brandweek (ProQuest)
Use the "Sorted by" option at the top-left corner of the results page to switch to "Most recent first"
Economist (ProQuest)
Use the "Sorted by" option at the top-left corner of the results page to switch to "Most recent first"
Entrepreneur (EBSCO)
Choose the "Search within this publication" option in the upper-left corner. After obtaining results change the "Relevance" option to "Date Newest" to view the most recent news.
Harvard Business Review (EBSCO)
Choose the "Search within this publication" option in the upper-left corner. After obtaining results change the "Relevance" option to "Date Newest" to view the most recent news.
Wall Street Journal (ProQuest)
Use the "Sorted by" option at the top-left corner of the results page to switch to "Most recent first"