Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Campus Life | Calendar | eLearning | Email | MyUNIverse
Ask Us! | Contact Us | About Us | Services | Research | Find Articles & Books

Government Information: Historical/Cultural

Covers federal, state and local government resources as well as international resources

Historical and Cultural Maps

Bible Geocoding: http://www.openbible.info/geo/ (OpenBible.Info)
The location of every identifiable place mentioned in the Bible.

Charting the Nation: http://www.chartingthenation.lib.ed.ac.uk/index.html (Edinburgh University Library)
Historical maps of Scotland 1550 - 1740.

David Rumsey Map Collection http://www.davidrumsey.com/ (Cartographic Associates)
This collection includes over 15,800 maps focusing on "rare 18th and 19th century North and South America maps and other cartographic materials.

his-GIS.net http://www.his-gis.net/
Gateway for historical Geographical Information Systems (GIS) in history, for historical cartography and for historical geography.  A new site for historical uses of GIS. Includes sections on events/conferences and jobs/fellowships.

Historical Maps Overview: http://www.culturalresources.com/Maps.html (Cultural Resources, Inc.)
Maps grouped by historical period and also by geography.

Indian Culture: http://www.mapsofindia.com/culture/ (Maps of India)
Dance, culture, languages, religions and crafts of India.

Maps & Charts Documenting the Expansion of Christianity 
(Yale University Divinity School Library)

Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection - Historical Maps http://www.lib.utexas.edu/maps/historical/index.html (University of Texas Libraries)
Includes historical maps of all areas of the world.

Tony Campell's Map History site: http://www.maphistory.info/ (WWW-Virtual Library - History)
A non-commercial site helpful in locating maps. The Images of Early Maps on the Web page includes many links to sites with digitized images of early maps.

U.S. Geological Survey Map Catalog: Culture & History

For historical maps of a military nature, see Digitized Primary American History Sources: The U.S. in Conflict