Find Articles

The library subscribes to databases that index journals and magazines in various subject areas.

The ones listed here are good at coverage of marketing and other business journals.

Trade journals can be a major source for marketing data and intelligence for the industries and markets they cover. Some trade journal web site articles are free and some are not. Rod Library subscribes to all articles from certain trade journals, and they, therefore, are available to UNI employees and currently enrolled UNI students at no cost.

Information about small and new companies may be available only in news and social media sites.

Databases

ABI/INFORM Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
"The ABI/INFORM Collection is comprised of ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline. The collection features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as The Economist and Sloan Management Review, country-and industry-focused reports, and major news sources like the Wall Street Journal." Several datasets are also available.
EBSCO Management Collection This link opens in a new window
This database contains full text articles from nearly 1,200 quality magazines and journals. The database includes full-text sources ranging from general publications such as Fortune and Money to trade publications such as American Demographics, Chemical Week, Electronic Business and Restaurant Hospitality. The collection of titles also includes top management journals such as Academy of Management Executive, California Management Review and Harvard Business Review.
Business Source Elite (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Provides the full text of nearly 4,000 peer-reviewed journals, business magazines, and trade journals; profiles of more than 1 million companies; and more than 10,000 industry and market reports.
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles in news, business, legal, medical, and reference information. Some full text articles available online.
Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
A newspaper specializing in business.
Des Moines Register (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Articles about small or new companies may be found only in local publications, such as the following. Small, local companies also probably have websites and provide information about themselves there.

Waterloo Cedar Falls Courier

Index UNI (University of Northern Iowa) This link opens in a new window
Indexes the Northern Iowan and other publications about UNI.