Research Guides: Mental Health in Children's and Young Adult Literature: General Feelings Awareness

Building an Emotions Vocabulary

Feelings by
Aliki
Call Number: Y 152 A

Publication Date: 1984

"Pictures, dialogs, poems, and stories portray various emotions we all feel: jealousy, sadness, fear, anger, joy, love, and others."
We Listen to Our Bodies by Lydia Bowers; Isabel Munoz (Illustrator)
Call Number: Y 152 B

Publication Date: 2021

"Our bodies let us know if we feel unsafe or might be in danger and can tell us when we are calm or need healthy touch. In this story, Mr. B helps Deja understand what her body is telling her by asking her to describe what her body is feeling."
Feelings Like Mine by Marie-Therese Miller
Call Number: Y 152 M

Publication Date: 2021

"Feelings can be happy or sad, big or small, easy or hard, and sometimes too complicated to put into words. Young readers will explore different kinds of feelings and the many ways to handle them."
A Whole Bunch of Feelings: What Do They Mean? by Jennifer Moore-Mallinos
Call Number: Y 152 M

Publication Date: 2018

"Everybody has feelings. But what do these feelings mean? There are lots of great feelings like happiness, surprise, and excitement, and then there are feelings that are upsetting, like sadness, anger, and frustration. But there are lots of other feelings, too!"
The Feelings Book: The Care and Keeping of Your Emotions by
Lynda Madison
Call Number: Y 155 M

Publication Date: 2002

"Discusses a variety of emotions girls might experience and suggests ways of dealing with them."
When Sophie's Feelings Are Really, Really Hurt by
Molly Bang
Call Number: YE BAN

Publication Date: 2015

"Sophie's is hurt when the other children laugh at her painting of her favorite tree--but when she explains her painting everybody understands what she was trying to do."
Happy Hippo, Angry Duck by
Sandra Boynton
Call Number: YE BOY

Publication Date: 2011

"Clever animals exemplify a wide range of emotions in this hilarious story about different feelings."
Being Edie Is Hard Today by Ben Brashares; Elizabeth Bergeland
Call Number: YE BRA

Publication Date: 2019

"A sensitive girl imagines transforming herself into different animals to help manage her intense emotions during difficult situations at school."
My Cold Plum Lemon Pie Bluesy Mood by
Tameka Fryer Brown
Call Number: YE BRO

Publication Date: 2013

"Jamie describes his mood throughout the day, using colors and rhythmic text, as he changes from an "easy green mood" while drawing a picture for his sister to a "brooding black mood" when he is teased for doing so."
How Do You Feel? by
Anthony Browne
Call Number: YE BRO

Publication Date: 2012

"A young chimp describes a variety of emotions he experiences."
Glad Monster, Sad Monster by
Ed Emberley; Anne Miranda
Call Number: YE EMB

Publication Date: 1997

"Monsters of different colors explain what makes them feel glad, sad, loving, worried, silly, and angry. Fold-out masks encourage readers to talk about their feelings."
Yesterday I Had the Blues by
Jeron Ashford Frame
Call Number: YE FRA

Publication Date: 2003

Moods change from day to day, and you never know what tomorrow will bring. But one thing's for sure: when you've got love around you, the blues won't stick around long.
How Are You Peeling? by
Saxton Freymann; Joost Elffers
Call Number: YE FRE

Publication Date: 1999

"Brief text and photographs of carvings made from vegetables introduce the world of emotions by presenting leading questions such as "Are you feeling angry?""
Wild Feelings by
David Milgrim
Call Number: YE MIL

Publication Date: 2015

Do you ever feel as stubborn as a mule? Or as chicken as a chicken? Of course you do. Looks at the normal, natural feelings we all have.
I Feel Happy and Sad and Angry and Glad by
Mary Murphy
Call Number: YE MUR

Publication Date: 2000

"Canine friends express a wide range of emotions as they play, argue, and make up."
The Feelings Book by
Todd Parr
Call Number: YE PAR

Publication Date: 2000

"Children express different moods, including "I feel very mad," "I feel like reading books all day," and "I feel like wearing funny underwear.""
Walter Was Worried by
Laura Vaccaro Seeger
Call Number: YE SEE

Publication Date: 2016

Children's faces express a range of emotions in response to the onset of a storm and its aftermath.
My Blue Is Happy by
Jessica Young
Call Number: YE YOU

Publication Date: 2013

"Follow one girl's journey through her neighborhood as she explores what colors mean to different people."
Lizzy's Ups and Downs: Not an Ordinary School Day by
Jessica Harper
Call Number: Not in our collection.

Publication Date: 2004

"Lizzy tells her mother all about her up and down feelings at school that day."

Taking a Bath with the Dog and Other Things That Make Me Happy by
Scott Menchin

Call Number: Not in our collection.

Publication Date: 2013

"In order to answer her mother's question about what would make her smile, a girl first asks various people, animals, and even the moon what makes them happy."

Why Do You Cry? by
Kate Klise

Call Number: Not in our collection.

Publication Date: 2006

"Little Rabbit is about to turn five, and he decides he's all through with crying. He doesn't want crybabies at his birthday party, so he tells his friends they can come only if they're big, like him, and don't cry anymore. When all of his friends admit to crying sometimes, Little Rabbit is shocked. Does everybody cry? Why?"

My Many Colored Days by
Dr. Seuss

Call Number: Not in our collection.

Publication Date: 1998

"This rhyming story describes each day in terms of a particular color which in turn is associated with specific emotions."

The Way I Feel by
Janan Cain

Call Number: Not in our collection.

Publication Date: 2005

"Illustrations and rhyming text portray children experiencing a range of emotions, including frustration, shyness, jealousy, and pride."

Feeling Jealous

Evie and Margie by
Bernard Waber
Call Number: YE WAB

Publication Date: 2003

"Best friends, Evie and Marjie, the hippopotamuses, are surprised to experience jealousy when they try out for the same part in the school play."
Unicorn Thinks He's Pretty Great by
Bob Shea
Call Number: YE SHE

Publication Date: 2013

"Envy turns to admiration and finally to friendship for Goat and Unicorn."
Brown Bear, White Bear by
Svetlana Petrovic
Call Number: YE PET

Publication Date: 2009

"Alice likes the teddy bears she receives for her birthday from each of her grandmothers, but soon the bears are fighting for her attention."
Flabbersmashed about You by
Rachel Vail
Call Number: YE VAI

Publication Date: 2012

When Katie's best friend Jennifer plays with Roy at recess instead of with her, Katie is surprised and jealous.
Do You Still Love Me? by Charlotte Middleton
Call Number: YE MID

Publication Date: 2003

"Upset when the arrival of a new pet, a baby chameleon, seems to displace his role in the family, Dudley the dog finds a way to prove himself indispensable."
The New Small Person by
Lauren Child
Call Number: YE CHI

Publication Date: 2015

"Elmore Green likes being an only child, so when his parents bring a new small person, his baby brother, into the house he is not pleased and does his best to keep the new small person out of his life."
Whoa, Jealousy! by
Woodleigh Marx Hubbard
Call Number: Not in our collection.

Publication Date: 2002

"Jealousy, envy, greed, and rivalry come into a person's life in the forms of various animals and all kinds of bad things happen. Jealousy is portrayed in a way that will help kids understand and deal with a powerful emotion."

Feeling Angry, Mad or Grumpy

Baditude! by
Julia Cook
Call Number: Not in our collection.

Publication Date: 2015

"This is the story of Noodle, a boy whose attitude, “or baditude,” is alienating everyone around him. Can Noodle let go of his angst and try to find the brighter side of life? With help from a teacher and his mom, Noodle learns how to turn his ‘have tos’ into ‘get tos’ and his baditude into gratitude!"

Grumpy Bird by
Jeremy Tankard

Call Number: YE TAN

Publication Date: 2007

"Feeling too grumpy to fly, Bird begins to walk and finds that his mood changes as other animals join him."

Andrew's Angry Words by
Dorothea Lachner; Tjong-Khing

Call Number: YE LAC

Publication Date: 1995

"When his sister trips and sends all his toys flying, Andrew lets loose a lot of nasty angry words that start to spread from person to person creating trouble wherever they go."

Anger by
Tamra B. Orr

Call Number: Y 152 O

Publication Date: 2016

Introduces readers to the emotion of angry by describing what it is, when and why it happens, and how to handle anger when it does happen.

Grump Groan Growl by
Bell Hooks

Call Number: YE HOO

Publication Date: 2008

Rhythmic text exposes a bad mood on the prowl, and advises the reader not to hide, but to let those feelings be.

When Sophie Gets Angry - Really, Really Angry by
Molly Bang

Call Number: YE BAN

Publication Date: 1999

A young girl is upset and doesn't know how to manage her anger but takes the time to cool off and regain her composure.

You're a Crab! by
Jenny Whitehead

Call Number: YE WHI

Publication Date: 2015

"A little crab is in a bad mood, but his mother assures him that everyone feels a bit crabby at times, and that when his mood changes they will have all sorts of fun."

Hooray for Hat! by
Brian Won

Call Number: YE WON

Publication Date: 2014

"Elephant wakes up in a grumpy mood, but a present on his doorstep--a hat--cheers him and he sets out to greet his neighbors who all, it seems, need hats of their own."

Anh's Anger by
Gail Silver

Call Number: YE SIL

Publication Date: 2009

"When Anh becomes angry and says hurtful things, his grandfather tells him to go to his room and sit with his anger, which allows Anh to feel better."

Steps and Stones: An Anh's Anger Story by
Gail Silver

Call Number: YE SIL

Publication Date: 2007

"Angry at his friends for choosing kickball over digging, Anh is revisited by Anger who demonstrates how mindful breathing can soothe and transform strong emotions."

How Do Dinosaurs Say I'm Mad? by
Jane Yolen

Call Number: YE YOL

Publication Date: 2013

"Illustrations and rhyming text explore some of the things that dinosaurs might do when they are angry--and how they should control their tempers."

When I'm Angry by
Jane Aaron; Barbara Gardiner

Call Number: Y 152 A

Publication Date: 1998

"Explains anger as a normal part of life and discusses how to deal with it."

Sometimes I'm Bombaloo by
Rachel Vail

Call Number: YE VAI

Publication Date: 2002

"When Katie Honors feels angry and out of control, her mother helps her to be herself again."

Mouse Was Mad by
Linda Urban

Call Number: YE URB

Publication Date: 2009

"Mouse struggles to find the right way to express his anger, modeling the behavior of Hare, Bear, Hedgehog, and Bobcat, only to discover that his own way may be the best way of all."

What to Do When Your Temper Flares by
Dawn Huebner

Call Number: Not in our collection.

Publication Date: 2007

"Guides children and their parents through the techniques used to treat problems with anger. This interactive self-help book teaches children a set of anger dousing methods aimed at cooling angry thoughts and controlling angry actions, resulting in calmer, more effective kids."

More Resources:

26 Phrases to Calm Down an Angry Kid

Self-Esteem and Individuality

What Do You Love about You? by
Karen Lechelt
Call Number: YE LEC

Publication Date: 2016

Different animals show there is a lot to love about each of us.
I Like Myself! by
Karen Beaumont
Call Number: YE BEA

Publication Date: 2004

"In rhyming text, a little girl expresses confidence and joy in her uniqueness, no matter her outward appearance."
Incredible Me! by
Kathi Appelt
Call Number: YE APP

Publication Date: 2003

"A girl celebrates her own individuality, from her freckles to her wiggles."
Some Monsters Are Different by
David Milgrim
Call Number: YE MIL

Publication Date: 2013

"Monsters celebrate their individuality."
Be Who You Are! by
Todd Parr
Call Number: YE PAR

Publication Date: 2016

"Picture book encouraging kids to be proud of what makes them unique, where they come from, and how they express themselves and see the world."
It's Okay to Be Different by
Todd Parr
Call Number: YE PAR

Publication Date: 2001

"Illustrations and brief text describe all kinds of differences that are "okay," such as "It's Okay to be a different color," "It's Okay to need some help," "It's Okay to be adopted," and "It's Okay to have a Different nose.""
Clink by
Kelly DiPucchio
Call Number: YE DIP

Publication Date: 2011

"While newer, fancier robots are quickly purchased, Clink, an old-fashioned robot who can only make toast and music, gathers dust and feels downhearted until a young boy enters the shop looking for something special."
Noodle and Lou by
Liz Garton Scanlon
Call Number: YE SCA

Publication Date: 2011

"Noodle, a worm, is sad and feeling bad about himself, but his friend Lou, a bird, convinces him that he is likeable just as he is."
Woolbur by
Leslie Helakoski
Call Number: YE HEL

Publication Date: 2008

"Woolbur, a sheep with a mind of his own, never seems to follow the flock, despite his parents' reminders about how he should behave."
Don't be Afraid to Drop by
Julia Cook
Call Number: Not in our collection.

Publication Date: 2008

"Boy Raindrop is afraid to let go of his cloud and drop to the ground. He doesn’t want to take a risk, he doesn’t like change, and he is happy and content with his comfortable life. This creative analogy provides all who read it with a positive perspective on change, taking risks, and giving back."

You Can Do It, Bert! by
Ole Könnecke

Call Number: YE KON

Publication Date: 2015

"This is Bert's big day. He is well prepared, mentally and physically. But he might need some encouragement. You Can Do It, Bert! is a simple, funny picture book with an encouraging positive message."

Unicorn Thinks He's Pretty Great by
Bob Shea

Call Number: YE SHE

Publication Date: 2013

"Envy turns to admiration and finally to friendship for Goat and Unicorn."

Marvelous Me by
Lisa Bullard

Call Number: YE BUL

Publication Date: 2002

"Alex is a marvelous little boy who is just like other people in some ways, such as getting angry sometimes, but also unique because of his special laugh, his grizzly hugs, and his own interesting thoughts"

Olivia and the Fairy Princesses by
Ian Falconer

Call Number: YE FAL

Publication Date: 2012

"Olivia is having an identity crisis! There are too many ruffly, sparkly princesses around these days, and Olivia has had quite enough. She needs to stand out! She has to be special! What will she be?"

Mostly Monsterly by
Tammi Sauer

Call Number: YE SAU

Publication Date: 2010

"On the outside, Bernadette is a lot like the other monsters in her class but when she shows that she can be sweet, her classmates reject her until she finds a way to fit in again."

No Two Alike by
Keith Baker

Call Number: YE BAK

Publication Date: 2011

"Follows a pair of birds on a snowflake-filled journey through a winter landscape, where everything everywhere, from branches and leaves to forests full of trees, is unique."

Being Friends by
Karen Beaumont

Call Number: YE BEA

Publication Date: 2002

"Two very different girls find that the joy of being friends enables them to share their various likes and dislikes."

The Little Bit Scary People by
Emily Jenkins

Call Number: YE JEN

Publication Date: 2008

"Some people are a little bit strange or a little too loud, and just a little bit scary. But I bet, if you knew them, and knew their favorite things, you'd think that maybe, (probably) most people aren't so scary after all."

Perfect Square by
Michael Hall

Call Number: YE HAL

Publication Date: 2011

"A perfect square that is perfectly happy is torn into pieces, punched with holes, crumpled, and otherwise changed but finds in each transformation that it can be something new, and just as happy."

Spoon by
Amy Krouse Rosenthal

Call Number: YE ROS

Publication Date: 2009

"Spoon's always been a happy little utensil. But lately, he feels like life as a spoon just isn't cutting it. He thinks Fork, Knife, and The Chopsticks all have it so much better than him. But do they? And what do they think about Spoon?"

The 7 Habits of Happy Kids by
Sean Covey

Call Number: Y 158 C

Publication Date: 2008

"Experience powerful principles such as responsibility, vision, respect, teamwork, and balance."

More Resources: