Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
UNI Career Resources
Rod Library Career Collection
Current information about career decision-making, occupations, employment trends, and job searching . Located on west side of 2nd/main floor, near Book Bistro booths.
UNI Career Services
Provides resources for exploring careers, job fairs, resume/cover letter/interview assistance, internship resources, career advisors, and more.
Provided by UNI Career Services. "This comprehensive assessment and planning tool reviews skills and interests."
More UNI Career Guides
Find out more about the Career Collection, find internship resources, and more.
Research Tools for Graduates
While Rod Library subscription resources for physics are not available once you graduate, consider using the following resources:
Open access (free) articles in physics and related fields. Browse by area of focus listed on main page or search using online form
(Tip: Default search is by Author
. Change to Full Record
to search by keyword.).
Chrome browser extension to find free, legal pdfs of research articles.
Open Access Button
App for free, legal access to articles or datasets.
Open Science Framework
Free platform for searching for and sharing research, including all phases and materials (proposals, hypothesis, datasets, etc.).
Provides citations, abstracts, and limited full-text. While a UNI student, use the UNI Google Scholar link
, which links to full-text/Interlibrary Loan services.
ChemWorx: ACS Citation Manager
A free tool to save and manage article citations. Available for both members and non-members.
Other popular free citation managers include Zotero
Many colleges/universities have online repositories that house articles and other works by faculty & students. These are usually run by the campus library system. If you find an article citation, determine the main author's home institution and search the school website for a repository. Then you can search by author name or article title.
UNI's institutional repository is UNI ScholarWorks
. The Physics department's faculty & student publications are available at: http://scholarworks.uni.edu/phy/
Content-sharing initiative from Springer that links to view-only, full-text articles freely & legally.
Anne Marie Gruber
, Earth and Environmental Sciences
, Family Services
, Scholarly Communication
, Science Education
, Social Work
Harsh, J. A., Maltese, A. V., & Tai, R. H. (2012). A perspective of gender differences in chemistry and physics undergraduate research experiences. Journal of Chemical Education, 89(11), 1364-1370.
Packard, B. W. & Hudgings, J. A. (2002). Physics careers web site: Expanding college women's perceptions of physicists' lives and work. Journal of College Science Teaching, 32(3), 164-70.
Sanders, N. E., Newton, E., & Kohler, S. (2012). Preparing undergraduates for research careers: Using Astrobites in the classroom. Astronomy Education Review, 11(1), 010201-1-010201-5.