English

Scholarly Articles (and Book Reviews)

Books and Book Chapters (Physical and Online)

Biographical Material

Oxford Dictionary of National Biography (ODNB)

This reference work contains biographical articles from notable figures from British history. UNI Rod Library DOES NOT subscribe to the online version, so your only access to these entries is to visit the third-floor stacks (DA 28.D4O95 2004). The contemporary collection is for library use only. You will need to use the KIC scanner on the second floor or a phone scanner app (such as Adobe Scan) to copy your articles. 

The contemporary version of this text (2004) should reference all of the authors referenced in class. Some names have alternate spellings, however. If you cannot find the author try a Google search of the author's name to locate alternate spellings. For example, Emilia Lanier, Aemilia Lanyer, Aemilia Lanier, Amelia Lanier, and Amelia Lanyer are all spellings for the same person.

NOTE: Your classmates depend on these volumes being available when needed. After you read or copy your entries, please return the book to the Library Services Desk on the second floor.

If the volume you want is not on the shelf, ask at the Library Services Desk on the second floor.

When doing research in a UNIFI or a lower-level course, using a few good sources is often sufficient. However, as your topics become more specific and narrow, it becomes more critical to have the best sources. This will mean more calculated searchers to ensure you see what is available.

1. Ensure you are in the correct database for the information you seek. Some databases are subject-specific, some are source-type specific, and others have embargos that affect the number of new items. If you aren't sure where to look, a librarian is an excellent person to ask.
    
2. Pay attention to the options the database offers you regarding field searching. SU Subject is one to which to pay specific attention. Different databases offer different field options.
    
3. Utilize filters to narrow your search. Always check what options are available in each database, as they will differ by product.
    
4. Do not be fearful of the "Find it! @ UNI button. Not everything you need will be immediately available by PDF.
    
5. Let your searches train you! Pay attention to the records and change your searches accordingly. 

Contrary to what Google would have you believe, most information is not free. Rod Library pays a lot of money for the resources you access through our databases, unfortunately, budgets never go as far as we wish they would. If we do not have access to the material you need, our Interlibrary Loan staff will try to get it for you. 

In addition to filling out the form, many of our databases include a "Find it! @ UNI" button. This button will sometimes open the article's full-text from another product to which we subscribe. However, if we do not have full-text access, it will take you to a library catalog (OneSearch) screen where you can "Request from ILLiad."

NOTE: You must sign in to your Rod Library account using your CatID to see this option in the library catalog.