Research Guides: English: ENGLISH 4192 (Tracey)

In Minds in Print: Mental Health in 19th-Century and Contemporary Periodicals, you've explored texts carefully chosen by your professor.

This guide provides some places for you to locate historical and contemporary resources to explore these themes further.

Photo by Jr Korpa on Unsplash

Challenges to locating sources

Do I know what I hope to find?
Does what I want to find exist?
Do I know where to look?
Do I know how to look?
Do I have access?
Do the systems available to me have limitations?
Do I know when to stop?

Historical Sources

American Journal of Insanity (Now The American Journal of Psychiatry)
Select issues between 1844 and 1876; This archive is searchable and browseable but does not include all issues. You can also access select issues on Hathi Trust and Internet Archive.
Good Houskeeping
1885-2005; This archive is searchable and browseable and contains more than Good Housekeeping, although that is the publication we focus on in this workshop.
North American Review
1815-2023; This periodical is searchable and browsable within JSTOR, although the database provides limited options for advanced searching. You can also browse this periodical in the physical form in the basement of Rod (UNI Periodicals; AP2.N72)

As you move into locating your own historical articles, you don't have to be limited to these three publications. Feel free to reach out to me, if you want help digging through other titles. A few you could consider

Frank Leslie's Illustrated Newspaper
Godey's Lady's Book
Harper's Magazine
Harper's Weekly
Scribner's Magazine
Yale Review

Contemporary Sources

New York Times This link opens in a new window
Access the New York Times for everything from breaking news to cooking tips, games, sports, and the Wirecutter. Sign up for an individual New York Times account.

Literary Magazines (a select list)

The Atlantic
Features articles for the general reader, reports & comments on recent events in history, humor, fiction, poetry, arts & leisure, & book reviews.
The Atlantic Online
The website for The Atlantic includes articles, podcasts, videos, newsletters, and more not featured in the print edition of the magazine.
Fourth Genre: Explorations in Nonfiction
Devoted to publishing notable, innovative work in nonfiction.
Guernica
Award-winning 501(c)3 non-profit magazine focused on the intersection of arts and politics.
Kenyon Review
An international journal of literature, culture and the arts including poetry, fiction, drama, essays and reviews.
New Yorker
An American magazine featuring journalism, commentary, criticism, essays, fiction, satire, cartoons, and poetry.
Ploughshares
Fiction, poetry, essays, commentary and reviews guest-edited serially by prominent writers, who explore different and personal visions, aesthetics and literary circles.
Virginia Quarterly Review
A national journal of literature and discussion published by the University of Virginia. Articles, poetry, fiction and discussions of recent books of note.

Zotero

Zotero is an application that collects, manages, and cites research sources.

Zotero is free, easy to use, and connects with your web browser to compile sources.

Download Zotero
Download the software application.
Zotero Support
User support page with how-to guides.

Use Zotero with Google Documents

Zotero Connector Application
Download the Zotero Connector application to use Zotero in Google Docs.
Zotero: On-Campus Access
If you are using Zotero Connector on-campus, you will need to disable proxy redirection when the domain name contains ".edu." Use the Zotero support page to find directions and more information.