Skip to main content
Campus Life | Calendar | eLearning | Email | MyUNIverse
Ask Us! | Contact Us | About Us | Services | Research | Find Articles & Books

Primary Source Sets

This guide contains primary sources from UNI Museum and Special Collections & University Archives at Rod Library. This guide is intended to provide information about using primary sources in the PK-12 classroom for teachers and students alike.

Primary Source Sets

Welcome to the Primary Source Sets libguide, created for you by Special Collections & University Archives and UNI Museum at Rod Library. In this guide, you will find digital copies of primary sources from various SC&UA and Museum collections organized by topic. These topics include Immigration / Migration, Black Experiences in Iowa, American Indians in the Midwest, Elections and Campaigns, and Women's History. These topics could be taught in PK-12 classrooms, and the primary sources may be used to support literacy, social studies, science, math, and 21st century skills within the Iowa Core Standards.

Over time, we will add additional tools and resources including supporting questions, suggested standard alignment for specific content, and lesson plans.

You will also find additional sources from other institutions as well as information about primary source literacy as a concept.

Welcome to UNI SC&UA

Special Collections & University Archives at Rod Library collects, preserves, and provides access to rare, valuable, and delicate collections of books, manuscripts, and institutional records.

Welcome to UNI Museum

The UNI museum serves as an educational facility for museology and seeks to inspire critical thinking about world cultures and the natural world through original research, innovative technologies, educational programming, and exhibits. Through the use of material culture, the museum encourages multi-disciplinary learning opportunities to foster student and community engagement resulting in a deep appreciation of diverse cultural groups. 

Suggestions and Feedback

We would love to hear from you! What suggestions or feedback do you have for us? Are there topics you would like to see covered? Have you created lesson plans using these materials you would like to share? Email us at jaycie.vos@uni.edu or jessica.cruz@uni.edu.