Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Campus Life | Calendar | eLearning | Email | MyUNIverse
Ask Us! | Contact Us | About Us | Services | Research | Find Articles & Books

Primary Source Sets

This guide contains primary sources from UNI Museum and Special Collections & University Archives at Rod Library. This guide is intended to provide information about using primary sources in the PK-12 classroom for teachers and students alike.

Elections and Campaigns

As a democracy, elections are the foundation of the government of the United States. This set focuses on election materials collected from campaigns at various levels of government. 

Many items below come from various collections within Special Collections & University Archives. Finding aids to specific collections are linked below.

A curated sample of the UNI Museum materials related to elections can be found at the tag set linked below. More materials may be found by searching the online database available on our website. 

Primary Sources

Delegate Democratic State Convention, 1892

Ribbon

Ribbon worn by a delegate at the 1892 Democratic State Convention. These conventions are used to select a presidential nominee. UNIM 00.34.2.5.2.

 

Campaign button for Nixon/Agnew

Political Button

Official campaign button for the Nixon-Agnew 1968 presidential campaign. UNIM 1968.19.

 

 

 

 

White pin with

Political Button

Campaign button for Hubert Humphrey's 1968 presidential campaign. UNIM 1968.27.

 

 

Political Button

Pin in support of the Republican Party, which is also known as the GOP. GOP stands for "Grand Old Party." UNIM 1970.63.

 

 

Campaign pamphlet with red and blue writing.

Political Pamphlet

Campaign material for President Nixon's re-election campaign in 1972. UNIM 1972.38.18.10.

 

 

 

Card urging new graduates to register Republican

Flyer

Flyer sent to new graduates urging them to register with the Republican party. UNIM 1972.38.18.12.

 

 

 

Skinny Cats for Democrats round sticker

Sticker

Sticker created in 1972 by the Democratic National Committee. UNIM 1973.55.4.

 

 

 

Clean Up Congress! with image of broom and capitol

Political Button

Political button meant to raise awareness of corruption in Congress. Dated to the 1970s. UNIM 1977.54.2.

 

 

 

Iowans for Jimmy Carter with an image of Carter

Campaign Shirt

T-shirt from Jimmy Carter's 1976 presidential campaign. UNIM 1978.25.84.

 

 

 

Ticket to a fundraiser picnic

Ticket

Ticket to a fundraiser picnic sponsored by Citizens for Mennegna. Jay Mennenga served in the Iowa Legislature as a democratic House Representative for Iowa District 77. UNIM 1980.45.107.

 

 

Invitation to see President Reagan at McElroy

Ticket

Ticket invitation to see President Reagan during a visit to the McElroy Auditorium in 1984. This visit would have been a part of his re-election campaign. UNIM 1998.5.30.2.

 

 

Informational flyer on a vote for the IA congress

Flyer

This flyer contains information on a measure to require unlimited annual sessions of the Iowa Legislature. This measure was put to a public vote. UNIM 1972.38.18.9.

 

 

Notepad as part of an election campaign

Notepad

A notepad given out as part o James E. Walmsley's campaign for State Representative in 1964. UNIM 1974.22.2.

 

 

 

Application for an absentee ballot

Postcard

Postcard application for an absentee ballot for Black Hawk County. Voters would complete these in order to be sent a ballot to vote by mail. UNIM 1978.63.3.

 

 

Image of campaign pencil.

Pencil

A pencil from Mary T. O'Halloran's campaign. O'Halloran was elected State Representative for District 36 in 1972 and served through 1977. From the Mary T. O'Halloran Papers, 1954-1978 collection, MsC-85, Box 13.

Image of campaign button.

Button

Button from the National Women’s Political Caucus "Win with Women" 1974 campaign. From the Mary T. O'Halloran Papers, 1954-1978 collection, MsC-85, Box 13. 

Image of canvassing flyer.

Flyer

Flyer that would have been left in someone's door from Mary T. O'Halloran canvassing neighborhoods while running for District 36 State Representative. From the Mary T. O'Halloran Papers, 1954-1978 collection, MsC-85, Box 1.

Image of political flyer.

Flyer

Political flyer endorsing Mary T. O'Halloran. From the Mary T. O'Halloran Papers, 1954-1978 collection, MsC-85, Box 1.

Image of flyer for County Attorney.

Flyer

Flyer endorsing Tom Ferguson as Black Hawk County County Attorney. From the Leon Mosley Papers, 1983-2003 collection, MsC-54, box 2.

Image of an invitation.

Invitation

Invitation to a join Senator Charles Grassley at a reception to help raise money for the 1996 Iowa House candidates. From the Leon Mosley Papers, 1983-2003 collection, MsC-54, box 2.

Image of political mailer.

Mailer

Political mailer for various Republican candidates in Black Hawk County, Iowa. From the Leon Mosley Papers, 1983-2003 collection, MsC-54, box 2.

Image of flyer for County Supervisor.

Flyer

Flyer endorsing Leon Mosely and Sonia Johannsen for County Supervisor. From the Leon Mosley Papers, 1983-2003 collection, MsC-54, box 2.

Image of mailer for Fred Grandy.

Mailer

Mailer endorsing Fred Grandy for Iowa Governor. From the Leon Mosley Papers, 1983-2003 collection, MsC-54, box 2.

Image of sticker for Fred Grandy.

Sticker

Sticker from Fred Grandy's 1994 governor campaign. From the Leon Mosley Papers, 1983-2003 collection, MsC-54, box 2.

Image of flyer for Paul Pate.

Flyer

Flyer endorsing Paul Pate for Secretary of State. From the Leon Mosley Papers, 1983-2003 collection, MsC-54, box 2.

Image of flyer for Lynn Culter.

Flyer

A mailer from Lynn Cutler's campaign for the Board of Supervisors. From the Lynn Cutler Papers, 1972 - 2001 collection, MsC-48 box 18.

Image of fact sheet

Fact Sheet

Fact sheet about the Iowa caucuses specifying how to caucus for Hillary Clinton. From the Lynn Cutler Papers, 1972 - 2001 collection, MsC-48 box 18.

Image of flyer describing how to caucus for Hillary Clinton.

Flyer

Flyer from Iowans from Hillary about the Iowa caucuses. From the Lynn Cutler Papers, 1972 - 2001 collection, MsC-48 box 18.

Image of mailer.

Mailer

Mailer inviting the recipient to a campaign rally in Chicago celebrating Democrat women candidates for the 1996 election. From the Lynn Cutler Papers, 1972 - 2001 collection, MsC-48 box 4.

Image of an invitation to the 1993 Inaugural Parade.

Invitation

Invitation to the 1993 Presidential Inaugural Parade for President Bill Clinton and Vice President Al Gore. From the Lynn Cutler Papers, 1972 - 2001 collection, MsC-48 box 18.

Image of a letter from President Bill Clinton to Lynn Cutler.

Letter

A letter from the President Bill Clinton to Lynn Cutler about the upcoming election. From the Lynn Cutler Papers, 1972 - 2001 collection, MsC-48 box 18.

Image of correspondence to Lynn Cutler.

Correspondence

Correspondence from Bob Carr, member of the House of Representatives from Michigan's 6th district. From the Lynn Cutler Papers, 1972 - 2001 collection, MsC-48 box 18.

Image of Iowan election calender, 1984.

Calendar

A calendar for the Iowa primary elections from 1984. From the Lynn Cutler Papers, 1972 - 2001 collection, MsC-48 box 4.

Image of letter from a constituent.

Letter

A letter from a constituent to Lynn Cutler regarding her loss in the 1982 election where she ran for state congress. From the Lynn Cutler Papers, 1972 - 2001 collection, MsC-48 box 18.

Image of an Appointment Affidavits for Lynn Cutler.

Appointment Affidavits

An appointment affidavit for Lynn Cutler's appointment to the Advisory Commission in Intergovernmental Relations in 1980. From the Lynn Cutler Papers, 1972 - 2001 collection, MsC-48 box 18.

Image of a poster.

Lawn Sign

A lawn sign from Chuck Grassley's 1974 campaign for U.S. Congress. From the Charles E. Grassley Papers MsC-30.

Image of poster.

Poster

A poster from Chuck Grassley's 1974 campaign for Congress advertising a chance to meet him. From the Charles E. Grassley Papers MsC-30.

Image of poster.

Poster

Poster of Chuck Grassley during his relection campaign. From the Charles E. Grassley Papers MsC-30.

Image of Lynn Cutler.

Photograph

Photograph of Lynn Cutler shaking hands with US Surgeon General Elders. From the Lynn Cutler Papers, 1972 - 2001 collection, MsC-48 box 18.

Image of Lynn Cutler.

Photograph

Photograph of Lynn Cutler, a lifelong public servant who has held many local and national positions for the Democratic party. From the Lynn Cutler Papers, 1972 - 2001 collection, MsC-48 box 18.

Image of Lynn Cutler and another person.

Photogragh.

A photograph of Lynn Cutler, a lifelong public servant who has held many local and national positions for the Democratic party. From the Lynn Cutler Papers, 1972 - 2001 collection, MsC-48 box 18.

Image of Lynn Cutler.

Photograph

A photograph of Lynn cutler speaking during her campaign for the Iowa District Three congress seat. From the Lynn Cutler Papers, 1972 - 2001 collection, MsC-48 box 18.

Image of photograph of Lynn Cutler.

Photograph

A photograph of Lynn Cutler shaking hands with Neil Goldschmidt, Secretary of Transportation, 1971-1980. From the Lynn Cutler Papers, 1972 - 2001 collection, MsC-48 box 18.

Photograph of Voter Van.

Photograph

A photograph of women from the Black-Hawk Bremer League of Women Voters. The van was used to demonstrate how to vote in local and national elections. From the Black Hawk-Bremer League of Women Voters collection, MsC-11 box 5.

Photograph of a parade with a League of Women Voters car.

Photograph

A photograph of a car in a parade in Waterloo advertising the League of Women Voters. From the Black Hawk-Bremer League of Women Voters collection, MsC-11, box 5.

Image of two women with a dog. The dog is wearing a sign that reads

Photograph

A photograph of two women walking a dog who is wearing a sign that reads, "I'm Registered. Are you?" From the Black Hawk-Bremer League of Women Voters collection, MsC-11, box 5.

Image of two women in front of a voting machine.

Photograph

A photograph of women standing in front of a voting machine, August 1 1972. From the Black Hawk-Bremer League of Women Voters collection, MsC-11, box 15.

Image of two men sitting at a table looking at a pamphlet with a women standing behind them.

Photograph

A photograph of two Black Hawk County council members looking at a pamphlet made by the Black Hawk-Bremer League of Women Voters to encourage local political engagement. From the Black Hawk-Bremer League of Women Voters collection, MsC-11, box 15.

Image of a newspaper clipping about the League of Women Voters encouraging political engagement.

Newspaper Clipping

A newspaper clipping about the League of Women Voters meeting with the Mayors of Waterloo and Cedar Falls to talk about voter registration. From the Black Hawk-Bremer League of Women Voters collection, MsC-11, box 5.

Image of a newspaper ad for the vote wagon to register voters.

Newspaper Clipping

A newspaper clipping for the Voter Wagon, a truck used by the League of Women Voters to help register voters and teach them how to vote. From the Black Hawk-Bremer League of Women Voters collection, MsC-11, box 5.

A newspaper clipping for an article,

Newspaper Clipping

A newspaper clipping from the Waterloo Courier discussing the League of Women Voters distribution of "Your Vote Makes a Difference" posters.From the Black Hawk-Bremer League of Women Voters collection, MsC-11, box 5.

Yellow button,

Political Button

"Re-Elect Governor Ray" button distributed by the Waterloo Republican Committee during the 1970 gubernatorial election. UNIM 1970.64.

White button with

Political Button

Button distributed as part of President Nixon's re-election campaign in 1972. UNIM 1972.38.7.

Red, white and blue button. text: Humphrey-Muskie

Political Button

Red, white, and blue campaign button for Hubert Humphrey's 1968 presidential campaign. Edmund Muskie was his running mate. UNIM 1972.38.9.

White background with blue and red text.

Political Button

This pin is in support of Grassley as a Respresentative of Iowa's 3rd district. Grassley was a member of the Iowa Congress from 1975-1981, after which he was elected to the US Senate. UNIM 1974.64.6.

Newsprint with a photo of Calvin Coolidge

Newspaper Clipping

A newspaper clipping from the day following the election of 1920. Calvin Coolidge was the Vice-President-elect at the time. UNIM 1975.4.90.

Red, white and blue button. text: Willkie & McNary

Political Button

This political button is from Wendell Wilkie's 1940 Republican party presidential campaign. He was running against Franklin Delano Roosevelt, who at the time was running for this third presidential term. UNIM 1975.47.

Image of Wm. B. Allison,

Political Button

This pin is from William B. Allison's 1908 campaign seeking reelection to the US Senate. UNIM 1976.3. 

Keep Grassley in Congress, white text on blue

Sticker

This bumper sticker is from Chuck Grassley's re-election campaign for Iowa state senator. UNIM 1976.77.2.

Blue and white. Text: I'm BAYH partisan

Political Button

Birch Bayh was an Indiana senator who campaigned during the Democratic presidential primary. He withdrew his bid for nomination before the Democratic Convention was held. UNIM 1976.80.1.

Blue text on white, circled by blue stars.

Political Button

LaDonna Harris was wife to Fred Harris, a former US Senator who sought the Democratic presidential nomination in 1972 and 1976. LaDonna Harris was politically active in her own right, and was the first American Indian woman to run for vice president as a member of the Citizens Party in 1980. UNIM 1976.93.1.4. 

Green and white, Carter-Mondale campaign

Political Button

This button is from the 1976 presidential campaign. Jimmy Carter and Walter Mondale were the Democratic nominees for president and vice-president. UNIM 1978.13.10.

White with blue text, IA Democratic Convention

Political Button

This button identified the wearer as a delegate at the Iowa Democratic State Convention in 1954. UNIM 1978.25.15.

Red, white, and blue, image of Gen. MacArthur

Political Button

This button is from the 1948 presidential primary elections. General Douglas MacArthur's name was put forth, though he wasn't able to campaign because he was serving in Japan at the time. UNIM 1978.25.58. 

Precinct caucus ballot for Ted Kennedy

Postcard

This postcard was distributed prior to the 1980 presidential caucus as a part of Ted Kennedy's presidential primary campaign. UNIM 1980.20.42.

Green and white, Boycott Carter

Political Button

This button was distributed as a reaction to President Carter's boycott of the 1980 Olympics. The summer games were set to take place in Moscow, and Carter's boycott was sparked by the invasion of Afghanistan by Soviet troops. UNIM 1980.45.10.

Black with a rainbow over McGovern in white

Political Button

This button was a part of George McGovern's 1972 presidential campaign. He was running against incumbent Richard Nixon. UNIM 1980.5.114.

White with black text. FBBI.

Political Button

This button was distributed as a part of George H.W. Bush's campaign for the Republican nomination during the 1980 presidential primaries. UNIM 1980.5.199. 

Photo of Miss Lillian in an outline of Iowautli

Political Button

This button was distributed as a part of Jimmy Carter's re-election campaign for president. Lillian Gordy Carter was his mother. UNIM 1980.5.235.

Blue with white text, photo of Ted Kennedy

Political Button

Ted Kennedy's visit to Cedar Rapids was to speak to the Iowa Bar Association to promote the senate campaign of John Culver. UNIM 1980.5.275.

Ear of corn with Culver stamped, made of brass

Political Button

John Culver was elected to the Senate for one term from 1975-1981. He is a Democrat and his eldest son is Chet Culver, who is a former governor of Iowa. UNIM 1980.5.296.

Black and white, image of Lester Dickinson

Political Button

Lester J. Dickinson was a republican politician from Iowa who ran for a seat in the US Senate in 1930. He won the election and served as a Senator until 1937. UNIM 1989.43.765. 

Blue and gold, Willkie Worker with two stars above

Political Button

Wendell Wilkie and Charles McNary ran as the Republican presidential and vice-presidential candidates against incumbents Franklin Delano Roosevelt and Henry Wallace in the 1940 election. UNIM 1989.43.765.

Green with text. Roxanne with a box around the x.

Political Button

This button was a part of Roxanne Conlin's 1982 gubernatorial campaign. UNIM 1998.5.13.

Image of sample ballot

Sample Ballot

A sample ballot that was used by Mary O'Halloran's campaign for state representative. From the Mary T. O'Halloran Papers, 1954-1978 collection, MsC-85 Box 1.

Yellow

Flyer

Handbill as a part of Governor Ray's re-election campaign. UNIM 1972.38.18.4.

Elephant with

Sticker

Circular sticker with a green line caricature of an elephant with trunk raised high and the slogan "Trunks Up!" UNIM 1974.67.5.

Bumper sticker, Grassley works for Big Oil

Sticker

Bumper sticker distributed bu the Iowa UAW-CAP Council as part of a campaign against Chuck Grassley. UNIM 1980.42.3.