This section provides resources for formatting and citing documents using the most recent Chicago Manual of Style edition.
The Chicago Manual of StyleThis section provides resources for formatting and citing documents using the 17th Edition of the Chicago Manual of Style.
If you love books and research and don't just want to rely on what is immediately available but are willing to wade through and find the perfect book, WorldCat is a resource for you.
For this assignment, you need a minimum of ten academic sources to research your Greek Myth. At least five must be scholarly books (one of which must be a physical book from Rod Library) and at least five must be either peer-reviewed journal articles or chapters from edited volumes. Rod Library provides access to a multitude of sources you might find useful for this project.
Dr. Hainey has given you an excellent list of resources to help you identify and select mythological figures and myths. Use these sources to note alternative spellings and themes you might want to take into your academic research.
Use OneSearch to locate ancient Greek sources that include mythological accounts. These texts come in many formats, with many in the public domain and freely available online. Be sure you've checked that the copy you've located is in a language you can read!
Because you are researching the original historical context for your myth, your sources could be located throughout many of the Library of Congress Classifications. Just walking into the stacks would be time-intensive and disappointing. Instead, search the library catalog to locate physical books at Rod Library.
OneSearch also includes access to our vast eBook collection. Once you have your required physical book, take the "Held by library" filter off your search, and your search will open up to include those online books.
While OneSearch does search some of our online collections, it does not search the entirety. Feel free to look at articles in OneSearch, but if you want to ensure a more calculated search of Classics journals, try my recommended databases below.
Be aware that these databases include more than peer-reviewed journal articles, so check the source type to ensure you have your required types covered.
If you struggled to find five books in OneSearch, our databases include book reviews. You DO NOT use the book review as your source. You will read the review to decide if it would be helpful, and if you wish you had access to the item, you should
Different databases contain different runs of each title, so the OneSearch record can help you determine which database holds the most current issues. Many Classics journals are appropriate for this project, but here are a few titles that may interest you.
