Art and Graphic Design

For this assignment, you will research a chosen iconoclastic individual and present your findings on how their view changed the world. You will need scholarly evidence or statistics to prove their iconic impact and how that changed the world. 

This guide should help you begin locating this evidence.

With the unleashing of accessible generative AI to the masses, it is both an exciting and overwhelming time. Generative AI deserves contemplation and critique and, when used ethically and thoughtfully, may prove to be a powerful collaborative tool.

What is important here is not to outsource the creation of original work (which, because it's based on predictive text, is not all that original), but instead to bring your human characteristics (critical thinking, judgment, expertise) to the partnership for a possibly augmented outcome.

While we practiced in class with a free ChatGPT account, the university provides Microsoft Copilot to UNI students, staff, and faculty. Using your university account ensures you are in "protected mode."

OF SPECIAL NOTE: Each class and work situation you encounter will have different rules (both formal and informal) regarding the acceptable use of AI. As our communities work to figure this technology out, it is in your best interest to seek explicit instruction about the acceptable and unacceptable uses of such tools in each context. 

Google is a vehicle to the open web. While it should not be the only tool in your toolkit. Google can be a great way to learn there are resources available, even if you cannot read the whole thing.

1. Wikipedia--great place to learn search terms or brainstorm talking points. You can also borrow their references.
2. If you have a current (or more current) iconoclastic individual, "their name" AND interview could highlight some excellent pieces on your person. If you start reading them and then get a popup asking you to subscribe to read the rest, this is a great time to reach out to your librarian to see if we have access to this article or can order it.
3. If when you checked the library catalog we didn't have a biography on your person, you could do a Google search for "their name" AND book. If your presentation isn't for awhile, you could request that book from Interlibrary Loan, so you could read it. It takes awhile for those to make it through the postal service, so order them NOW!
4. You could also try "their name" AND documentary, although with more and more media only available in streaming format those can be difficult for the library to access for you.
5. There are organizations dedicated to documenting and saving information on important people. In Google search for "their name" AND museum OR archive site:.org, which will narrow your results considerably. 

I often pull my citations from the database and correct them against Purdue OWL. On these pages, you can find sample citations. Open these links and then do a CONTRL-F for the capitalized name I pasted below, and the sample will be right there.

Ethical considerations: Be sure to give credit to your image sources. It is the right thing to do!

Legal considerations: Do be aware images found in these resources may be subject to Copyright Law. While coursework that stays in your course is often covered under the Fair Use doctrine, images used outside the educational context are subject to copyright restrictions. 

Locating images is "easy," but locating great images takes a bit more effort. Here are a couple of things to consider.

1. Many of the resources you located for content contain images. Use them! Hold onto these resources for your presentation.
2. Some web searching will lead you to images (as will a Google Image search). Do be aware these searches are not exhaustive (most notably missing works in museums and archives). They often are low-quality versions of these images. One way I use these images is as a gateway for where to locate other sources that aren't easily found with a simple Google search. For example, a search in Google Images less me to this article from Women and the American Story, which has a couple of wonderful pictures of Dolly Parton credited to the Library of Congress. This leads me to believe, if I go directly to the Library of Congress website I may be able to find even more wonderful images. 
3. If you find an online collection and the search function on that website is not particularly helpful, try a domain limiter search using Google. For example, site:loc.gov/collections/ "their name" will search the digital collections housed at the Library of Congress. 
4. Here are a couple of collections I highly recommend searching. This is not an exhaustive list, but a good starting point.