Research Guides: Company Information Research: Company Profiles and Directories

Company Profiles: Comprehensive Information

When beginning research on a particular company, it is a good idea to verify its current name and status. Does it file with the SEC? Is it a subsidiary of another company? Is the company name actually a brand name? Who are its competitors? Company profiles and directories can help to find answers to those questions.

In order to be successful in your research, the following information is crucial to have:

Full Company Name
Ticker Symbol [MarketWatch symbol lookup]
Central Index Key (CIK) [CIK Lookup]
Name of Company Executive(s)

International Directory of Company Histories by St James Press (Editor)
Call Number: Reference HD2721.D36
ISBN: 1558629149
When students, job candidates, business executives, historians and investors need accurate and detailed information on the development of any of the world's largest and most influential companies, direct them to International Directory of Company Histories. This multi-volume work is the first major reference to bring together histories of companies that are a leading influence in a particular industry or geographic location.

ABI/INFORM Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
The collection features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as The Economist and Sloan Management Review, country-and industry-focused reports, and major news sources like the Wall Street Journal. Includes GlobalData Company Profiles and Analysis.
Business Source Elite (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
MarketLine Company Profiles include key company information such as top competitors, major products and services, and revenue and SWOT analyses. MarketLine Industry Profiles include information about market value, segmentation and forecasts, Porter’s Five Forces analysis, and leading companies in the industry.
Gale Business: Insights This link opens in a new window
Thousands of company histories and industry essays from Gale's core business collection. Includes company overview from the International Directory of Company Histories.
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Includes U.S. Company Data and International Company Data. Rich textual descriptions offer a wealth of detail on items including business description, history, property, subsidiaries, officers and directors, long-term debt and capital stock.
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) This link opens in a new window
Includes company news, finances, and relevant market, industry, and historical information. Full-text of Hoover's Company Records and GlobalData Company Profiles are indexed in Nexis Uni.

Company Comparison Lists

Use the below databases to look up individual companies and to generate lists of companies using detailed search criteria, such as industry (NAICS or SIC Code), number of employees, sales, location (country, state, city, zip code), company status (public or private), and more.

Creating a List of Companies using Data Axle Reference Solutions (formerly known as ReferenceUSA)

Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) This link opens in a new window
Search Tip: Compile a list of companies based on a variety of criteria (NAICS code, size, geography, etc.): At the top of the Nexis Uni page, click on [Menu], select [Company Dossier], then choose [Create a Company List].

Creating a List of Companies using Nexis Uni

Gale Business: Insights This link opens in a new window
Search Tip: Hover over [Companies] in the top navigation bar, then select [Company Finder]. Select criteria (geography, revenue, number of employees, industry) to generate a list of companies.
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Create a custom mulit-company analysis list by selecting the companies of your choosing and the data that you are needing. Lists can also be compiled on Primary SIC and Primary NAICS.

Industry Classification

The North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) is the standard used by Federal statistical agencies in classifying business establishments for the purpose of collecting, analyzing, and publishing statistical data related to the U.S. business economy.

Browse NAICS codes or lookup by keyword.

The Standard Industrial Classification Codes (SIC) that appear in a company's disseminated EDGAR filings indicate the company's type of business.

SIC Code Listing