Find Journal Articles

Use Onesearch (library catalog), library databases, and Google Scholar to find journal articles.

Onesearch (library catalog)
Select "Peer-reviewed Journals" under "Availability" on the right side of the page.
Databases A-Z
Under "All Subjects," filter to your subject/topic area. Select a "Best Bet" when beginning research and contact the subject librarian for research help.
Google Scholar
Select the Google Scholar tab on the homepage.

Databases

For a full list of subjects, visit Databases A-Z.

Use Academic OneFile and Academic Search Elite to find articles on almost any subject.

Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Elite (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window

Business

ABI/INFORM Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Business Source Elite (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window

Education

ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Education Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
APA PsycInfo (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window

Health

History

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Historical Abstracts (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window

Science

Psychology/Sociology

APA PsycInfo (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window

JSTOR

How to Read Journal Articles

Journal articles are often long (10-20 pages) and can be difficult to read.

To quickly read a journal article that is outside of your discipline, read only the following sections of an article and skip the rest of the article:

Abstract

Introduction

Discussion (Conclusion)

Bibliography*

Pro-tip: Skim the bibliography for additional sources you can use for your paper.