Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
eLearning | Email| | Ask Us! | Contact Us | About Us | Research | Find Articles & Books

Historical Magazines - Digitized, Print, and Microfilm - (The Magazine Finder)

This guide provides an index of digitized historical magazines available via archives such as HathiTrust and Google Books as well as historical magazines found in print and microfilm format within the UNI Rod Library

How to find articles in magazines published between 1890 and 1925 --- Readers' Guide and Nineteenth Century Readers' Guide

Ladies' Home Journal 1889-1924                         

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Atlantic Monthly 1857-1924

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Independent (magazine) 1878-1924               

 

 

 

 

Colliers Magazine 1901-1924           

Magazines published from 1890 to 1925, and digitized by university libraries (HathiTrust), the Internet Archive or Google (Google Books), are generally freely available to the public.

               

Lists of digitized magazines can be found on this website (Historical Magazines) and the extensive Serials page of the University of Pennsylvania Online Books project.

                   

While it is possible to locate articles by browsing or searching these options, indexes of magazine articles - arranged by subject - were compiled during this time period by both the Nineteenth Century Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature (1890-1899) and a series of twentieth century indexes known as the Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature (1900-1924).

                    
     

HathiTrust provides digitized copies of both indexes as follows:

Nineteenth Century Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature (1890-1899)

Nineteenth Century Readers' Guide 1890-1899 – Magazine Abbreviation Guide

                         

Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature (1900-1924)

Magazine Abbreviation Guides to Readers' Guide for the years:

    

 

 

Readers' Guide Retrospective Database - 1890-1982 (UNI Only)

UNI students and faculty - and visitors to the UNI Rod Library can use the EBSCO database Readers' Guide Retrospective which permits article title, subject, journal name, and author searching for the years 1890 to 1982.  The results may be limited to year(s) of publication.

 

 

 

Readers' Guide will provide the title, the author (if listed), the abbreviated name of the magazine, the volume of the magazine, the page numbers, the month, and the year.

With this information head for the Historical Magazines portion of this guide (or the University of Pennsylvania Serials page or HathiTrust) and locate the magazine. After clicking on the magazine, scroll through the volumes until you arrive at the one you seek (click on this). Once you've opened a specific volume of the magazine either scroll to the page, search for the title, or use the page locater is available.

Important note! Unless you attend a university that is a member of HathiTrust, (alas UNI is not a member), you will only be allowed to download one page at a time. However, if you scroll down through the options on the left-hand side of the viewing frame you will find that HathiTrust does provide a permanent link to any page you are viewing (the "Link to this page" option). Copying this link and the article information provides quick return access for a later date.