Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
eLearning | Email| | Ask Us! | Contact Us | About Us | Research | Find Articles & Books

Historical Magazines - Digitized, Print, and Microfilm - (The Magazine Finder)

This guide provides an index of digitized historical magazines available via archives such as HathiTrust and Google Books as well as historical magazines found in print and microfilm format within the UNI Rod Library

How to find articles in magazines published between 1926 and 1982 --- Readers' Guide Retrospective (EBSCO Database - UNI Only)

 

                 

Readers' Guide Retrospective - aka Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature

 

 

 

 

Life Magazine - available via Google Books Magazines

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Ebony magazine available online via Google Books Magazines

 

 

 

 

The Crisis magazine is freely available online via Google Books Magazines

 

 

 

Billboard magazine is freely available online via Google Books Magazines

Magazines published between 1926 and 1982 are generally NOT freely available online due to copyright restrictions.

The majority of magazines owned by Rod Library during this time period are in either print or microfilm format. 

Articles contained in these magazines can be discovered using the database Readers' Guide Retrospective (which covers the years 1890 to 1982). The use of Readers' Guide Retrospective is restricted to UNI students and faculty and visitors to the UNI Rod Library.

 

Readers' Guide Retrospective will provide the title, the author (if listed), the name of the magazine,  the month, and the year the article was published, the volume of the magazine, and the page numbers.


 

To find an article listed in Readers' Guide Retrospective you will also need a call number. This call number is then used to find the the magazine within the bound print periodical collection located on the first floor (basement) of UNI Rod Library (see the maps of the first floor in this guide). To get a magazine call number use either the this guide (Magazine Finderor use the "Journal Search" found on the UNI Rod Library website.

 

Readers' Guide Retrospective provides full PDF images of articles in: Congressional DigestFortuneLife, Saturday Evening Post, Vital Speeches of the Day, and Wilson Library BulletinReaders' Guide Retrospective also provides HTML text access to articles in Time (magazine).

 

Rod Library has individual databases that provide PDF images of articles for Fortune, Life, and Time magazines.
 

 

   

Google Books Magazines does provide free online access to the following magazines published during this time period:

 

Backpacker

Billboard

Black Belt

Black Enterprise

Black World (Negro Digest)

Boys Life

Cincinnati Magazine

Computerworld

The Crisis

Ebony

Ebony Jr.

Field & Stream

Flying (Popular Aviation)

Jet

Life

New York Magazine

Popular Mechanics

Popular Science