National History Day

Access historic UNI publications, Cedar Valley Historical Collections, and Iowa Historical Collections.

The Outdoor Sculptures digital collection highlights many art pieces on display across the UNI campus. This collection features locations and photos of several of the campus sculptures that grace the grounds.

UNI Yearbooks from 1905 to 1997

History of this campus. Focus on university administrators and key events that occurred during each college/university administration.

History of over sixty buildings the currently or formerly graced this campus.

History of libraries on this campus from the library of the Iowa State Normal School (1876) to the current Rod Library of the University of Northern Iowa.

A quick guide to the history of this campus that includes the various names for this college/university, past university presidents, tuition over time, enrollment over time.

A directory of many of the "History of UNI" websites authored by the UNI Special Collections & Archives

This guide lists and describes a variety of information sources such as books, newspapers, and special reports that researchers may need when investigating topics related to the University of Northern Iowa. Most of these sources are located in Special Collections; some are also located in other parts of the Rod Library. For quick facts about such things as institutional name changes, president's names and terms, campus buildings, tuition and fees, and enrollment, see the "UNI Fact Sheet."