Executive Branch ResourcesLegislative Branch ResourcesJudicial Branch ResourcesIndependent Federal Government Agencies, Boards, and Commissions
AstronomicalEnvironmentalGeographicalGeophysicalHistorical/CulturalLiteraryAdministrative/PoliticalRecreational/LandmarksTime and DateSociologicalIowa Maps
This is the "United States/Federal" page of the "Government Information" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Covers federal, state and local government resources as well as international resources
Last Updated: Sep 11, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.uni.edu/government-documents Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

United States/Federal Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Federal Depository Library Program

Federal Depository Library Logo

Rod Library has been part of the Federal Depository Library Program since 1946.  Rod Library receives approximately 35% of government information distributed through the Government Printing Office (GPO).  Our government documents collection is located in the north-central area on the first (bottom) floor of Rod Library.  In addition, there are a significant number of government documents available online. 

 

Secret Search Tip

Sometimes finding a government document is like looking for a needle in the haystack! What to do?  If you do a Google search and include site:.gov at the end of your search, Google will limit the results to government websites only.  How nifty is that?!

Databases and General Online Government Document Resources

These databases will help you in finding government documents at the federal level.

  • UNISTAR (Rod Library Online Catalog)
    There are government documents available in microfiche, print and electronic formats. Microfiche, print documents, and maps can be found on the west half of the 2nd (main) floor of Rod Library.
  • Catalog of U.S. Government Publications
    CGP is a finding tool for federal publications that includes descriptive records for historical and current publications and provides direct links to those that are available online.
  • MetaLib GPO
    Welcome to MetaLib, a service of the Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (CGP)! MetaLib is a federated search engine that searches multiple U.S. Federal government databases, retrieving reports, articles, and citations while providing direct links to selected resources available online.
  • FDSys
    Digitized government publications from all three branches of government.
  • FDSys Tutorials
    Tutorials on how to use FDSys.
  • USA.gov
    As the U.S. government's official web portal, USA.gov makes it easy for the public to get U.S. government information and services on the web. USA.gov also serves as the catalyst for a growing electronic government.

Reference Librarian & Bibliographer

 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip