HIST 1120 - United States History since the Civil War and Emancipation

Limit search results by Date and by Type (e.g., image, text)

The mission of EPA is to protect human health and the environment.

Hagley Museum and Library seeks to inspire all people to be innovative in their own lives through investigation and exploration of our historical collections, original DuPont powder yards, and online resources.

IndexUNI is Rod Library's online index of articles from official campus publications, dating from 1876 to the present. These publications are available for use in person at the Special Collections & University Archives Reading Room, located on the 3rd floor of Rod Library.

ARTICLES: Search 305,000+ articles based on keywords, time periods, and publication.

SUBJECTS: Peruse the list to find topics of interest - nearly 90,000 subjects.

AUTHORS: Browse through the list of 9,000 individual student, faculty, and staff authors

PUBLICATIONS: View publication dates and issues of 20 separate campus newspapers, newsletters and books.

"The Iowa Heritage Digital Collection is an online repository of Iowa history and culture, maintained by State Library of Iowa, which brings together digital resources of Iowa libraries, museums, historical societies and other cultural institutions to enhance access to and preserve long–term accessibility of these valuable materials." --- IHDC

More than 300 different digital collections.
Limit your search by Subject or Format.

"The Living Room Candidate: Presidential Campaign Commercials 1952-2020 is an online exhibition presenting more than 300 television commercials from every election year since 1952, when the first campaign TV ads aired." --- The Living Room Candidate

Be sure to check "Archived Materials Online".
Be sure to uncheck "Archival Descriptions"

Access to state archives and virtual collections.

Access to both primary sources - such as newspapers, diaries, photographs, and maps - and Iowa history magazines such as Iowa Heritage Illustrated, Annals of Iowa, and the Palimpsest.

The Rod Library Special Collections & University Archives collects, preserves, and provides access to rare, valuable, and delicate collections of books, manuscripts, and institutional records. Many materials from SC&UA have been digitized and are available online in ScholarWorks.

"The Vanderbilt Television News Archive began recording broadcasts on August 5, 1968 with the mission to create, preserve and provide access to the news broadcasts from the U.S. national television networks ... The core collection of the Archive consists of regularly scheduled newscasts from ABC, CBS, NBC, CNN and Fox News. Special news reports are recorded in addition to these newscasts, including material from other networks. We record broadcasts as they are televised, provide the widest access allowable within copyright for scholarship and research, and preserve the content for future generations. The database currently includes 1,417,398 records, including abstracts at the story level of regular evening newscasts and catalog records for each special news report." --- Vanderbilt News Archive

"Constructed and maintained by the Wilson Center's History and Public Policy Program, the Digital Archive contains declassified historical materials from archives around the world, much of it in English translation." --- The Wilson Center

There are thousands of publicly available digital archives that could contain useful primary source material for your project. Focused searches using powerful Google commands can locate digital collections based on the descriptions of archives.