HIST 1120 - United States History since the Civil War and Emancipation

Through the course of history. Extensive, cross-referenced indexes. period. Thematic headings allow readers to trace a particular theme highlights developments in the arts and sciences during the same A comprehensive reference set first published in 1976. This revised and updated edition now covers the history of the world from 10,000 B.C. to A.D. 1992.

Now in paperback and updated through 1993, the ever-popular People's Chronology presents more than 35,000 entries that chronicle the major historical events in 30 categories of human endeavor--from art to communications to literature to music to religion to science and more. Enormous fun to read.--The Washington Post.

In the Greenhaven Press "America's Decades" series, one hundred years of American history examined in ten highly informative volumes. Each anthology in the series includes essays chosen for their concise, accessible, and straightforward presentation of the defining events of the decade, in both the domestic and international arenas. Essays that discuss the cultural and technological trends that affected people's everyday lives have also been included, to help students develop their own perspectives on how America and Americans have changed throughout the twentieth century. An introductory essay sets the tone for each time period, while a chronology of events helps students keep track of important dates.

Relying on the words of participants or on fascinating secondary sources, this book delivers a glimpse of key people and events from this exciting decade. Reform, war, spectacular technology, and bigotry mark the decade, as does the appearance of Charlie Chaplin, Alvin York, Woodrow Wilson, and Henry Ford.

This book provides a fresh account of the major cultural and intellectual trends of the United State in the 1910s, a decade characterised by war, the flowering of modernism, the birth of Hollywood, and Progressive interpretations of culture and society. Chapters on fiction and poetry, art and photography, film and vaudeville, and music, theatre, and dance explore these developments, linking detailed commentary with focused case studies of influential texts and events. These range from Tarzan of the Apes to The Birth of a Nation, from the radical modernism of Gertrude Stein and the Provincetown Players to the earliest jazz recordings. A final chapter explores the huge impact of the First World War on cultural understandings of nationalism, citizenship, and propaganda.Key Features*three case studies per chapter featuring key texts, genres, writers and artists*Detailed chronology of 1910s American Culture*Bibliographies for each chapter*Fifteen black and white illustrations

Readers will get an inside look at what American life was like leading up to and during World War I, the Titanic Sinking, Henry Ford's Assembly Line, the Panama Canal opening, and so much more. In over 600 pages, This is Who We Were: In The 1910s contains a wealth of detailed information on the 1910s, featuring: Personal Profiles: Each of the 28 in-depth Personal Profiles examines the lives of families who lived during the decade. Each profile is arranged into three categories, all detailing thorough information about the person profiled: Life at Home, Life at Work, and Life in the Community.

The 'roaring' twenties were a time of optimism and economic prosperity following the end of World War I. Chapters discuss topics such as Prohibition, the stock market crash of 1929, and the emerging influence of radio.

This is the first book to offer a comprehensive look at American life in the 1920s as framed by the aspirations, scandals, and attitudes of the Wilson, Harding, Coolidge, and Hoover presidencies. In fascinating detail, Goldberg examines how Victorian values were transformed into the freewheeling lifestyle of the Jazz Age and explores the effects of such far-reaching issues as isolationism vs. internationalism, massive immigration, labor-management relations, and the prevalence of big business. Even as he pierces the era's claim to being a time of "wonderful nonsense," Goldberg balances its giddy fads and foibles with a stinging critique of darker and/or significant social issues. From the rise of the Ku Klux Klan to black protests to the Scopes "Monkey Trial," from bootlegging and Prohibition to the Red Scare, Goldberg shows how the temper of the 1920s shaped the nation's future. Finally, he poses provocative questions about how mistakes might have been avoided and what consequences ensued.

Sometimes referred to as the Jazz Age or the Roaring Twenties, the period from 1920 to 1929 witnessed such momentous events as the crash of the stock market, Prohibition, the Harlem Renaissance, the Scopes Monkey Trial, and the first feature-length motion picture with a soundtrack.""Day by Day: The Twenties"" is a comprehensive two-volume set presenting a complete, accessible chronology of this pivotal decade. This unique new title documents the major events of the period as they unfolded each day, including the defining social, economic, political, and cultural issues of the time. Comprehensive daily coverage is divided into 10 sections: World Affairs; Europe; Africa and the Middle East; The Americas; Asia and the Pacific; U.S. Politics and Social Issues; U.S. Foreign Policy and Defense; U.S. Economy and Environment; Science, Technology, and Nature; and Culture, Leisure, and Life Style.

"To an astonishing extent, the 1920s resemble our own era, at the turn of the twenty-first century; in many ways that decade was a precursor of modern excesses....Much of what we consider contemporary actually began in the Twenties." -- from the Introduction The images of the 1920s have been indelibly imprinted on the American imagination: jazz, bootleggers, flappers, talkies, the Model T Ford, Babe Ruth, Charles Lindbergh's history-making flight over the Atlantic.But it was also the era of the hard-won vote for women, racial injustice, censorship, widespread social conflict, and the birth of organized crime. Bookended by the easy living of the Jazz Age, when the booze and money flowed seemingly without end, and the crash of '29 that led to breadlines and a level of human suffering not seen since World War I, New World Coming is a lively, entertaining, and all-encompassing chronological account of an age that defined America.

[Primary Source} Written in 1931, this new installment in the Wiley Investment Classics series offers a well-written historical and anecdotal account of the volatile stock market of the 1920s. It traces the rise of post World War I prosperity up to the crash of 1929 before a colorful backdrop that includes Al Capone, Prohibition, the first radio, and the rise and fall of the skirt length.

During the 1920s and 1930s, changes in the American population, increasing urbanization, and innovations in technology exerted major influences on the daily lives of ordinary people. Explore how everyday living changed during these years when use of automobiles and home electrification first became commonplace, when radio emerged, and when cinema, with the addition of sound, became broadly popular. Find out how worklife, domestic life, and leisure-time activities were affected by these factors as well as by the politics of the time. Details of matters such as the creation of the pickup truck, the development of radio programming, and the first mass use of cosmetics provide an enjoyable read that brings the period clearly into focus. Centering its attention on the broad masses of the population, this animated reference resource emphasizes the wide variety of experiences of people living through The Roaring Twenties and The Great Depression. Readers will be surprised to discover that some of the assumptions we have about the lives of average Americans during these eras are historically inaccurate. A final chapter provides a unique look at six American communities and gives a vivid sense of the diversity of American experience over the course of these tumultuous years.

This tumultuous decade is known for the Great Depression and the New Deal programs that helped to end the depression. Chapters discuss these subjects as well as the golden age of radio, gangsters and crime, labor disputes, and events of the time such as the Lindbergh kidnapping.

Day by Day: The Thirties is a unique, two-volume work that provides researchers of all ages with a complete, accessible chronology of the decade from 1930 to 1939. It documents the major events of the period as they unfolded each day, including the social, economic, political, and cultural issues that defined the decade. Comprehensive coverage is divided into 10 sections: World Affairs; Europe; Africa and the Middle East; The Americas; Asia and the Pacific; U.S. Politics and Social Issues; U.S. Foreign Policy and Defense; Economics and Great Depression; Science, Technology, and Nature; and Culture, Leisure, and Life Style.

The three volumes of The Thirties in America offer a clear and innovative approach to North America during the 1930's that can be used by students and scholars alike. The set covers the full breadth of North American history and culture in 675 alphabeticaqlly arranged and easy-to-understand articles and also offers such helpful finding aids as end-of-article cross-references and a category index. Plus, complimentary online access is provided through Salem History.

The 1940s are remembered as a time of war and the beginning of the atomic age. Essays examine the events leading to World War II, the war itself, the home front, and the motion picture industry.

New York times' chronicle of American life.

A prelude to war -- Life on the home front -- The war against Germany -- War in the Pacific -- Postwar America : prosperity and problems -- Truman : the embattled president -- The rise of the Cold War -- Legacies.

This book explores the major cultural forms of 1940s America - fiction and non-fiction; music and radio; film and theatre; serious and popular visual arts - and key texts, trends and figures, from Native Son to Citizen Kane, from Hiroshima to HUAC, and from Dr Seuss to Bob Hope. After discussing the dominant ideas that inform the 1940s the book culminates with a chapter on the 'culture of war'. Rather than splitting the decade at 1945, Jacqueline Foertsch argues persuasively that the 1940s should be taken as a whole, seeking out links between wartime and postwar American culture.Key Features:* Focused case studies featuring key texts, genres, writers, artists and cultural trends* Detailed chronology of 1940s American culture* Bibliographies for each chapter* 20 black and white illustrations

A genuine feeling for the forties is reflected in the hit songs, best-selling books, Academy Awardr movies, and other social phenomena of the times.

This engrossing anthology assembles classic New Yorker pieces from a complex era enshrined in the popular imagination as the decade of poodle skirts and Cold War paranoia--featuring contributions from Philip Roth, John Updike, Nadine Gordimer, and Adrienne Rich, along with fresh analysis of the 1950s by some of today's finest writers.   The New Yorker was there in real time, chronicling the tensions and innovations that lay beneath the era's placid surface. In this thrilling volume, classic works of reportage, criticism, and fiction are complemented by new contributions from the magazine's present all-star lineup of writers. The magazine's commitment to overseas reporting flourished in the 1950s, leading to important dispatches from East Berlin, the Gaza Strip, and Cuba during the rise of Castro. Closer to home, the fight to break barriers and establish a new American identity led to both illuminating coverage, as in a portrait of Thurgood Marshall at an NAACP meeting in Atlanta, and trenchant commentary, as in E. B. White's blistering critique of Senator Joe McCarthy. The arts scene is recalled in critical writing rarely reprinted, including Wolcott Gibbs on My Fair Lady, Anthony West on Invisible Man, and Philip Hamburger on Candid Camera. Also featured are great early works from Philip Roth and Nadine Gordimer, as well as startling poems by Theodore Roethke and Anne Sexton, among others. Completing the panoply are insightful and entertaining new pieces by present-day New Yorker contributors examining the 1950s through contemporary eyes. The result is a vital portrait of American culture as only one magazine in the world could do it. Including contributions by Elizabeth Bishop * Truman Capote * John Cheever * Roald Dahl * Janet Flanner * Nadine Gordimer * A. J. Liebling * Dwight Macdonald * Joseph Mitchell * Marianne Moore * Vladimir Nabokov * Sylvia Plath * V. S. Pritchett * Adrienne Rich * Lillian Ross * Philip Roth * Anne Sexton * James Thurber * John Updike * Eudora Welty * E. B. White * Edmund Wilson   And featuring new perspectives by Jonathan Franzen * Malcolm Gladwell * Adam Gopnik * Elizabeth Kolbert * Jill Lepore * Rebecca Mead * Paul Muldoon * Evan Osnos * David Remnick Praise for The 50s   "Superb: a gift that keeps on giving."--Kirkus Reviews (starred review) "[A] magnificent anthology."--Literary Review

Origins : postwar America and the roots of the Fifties -- Fair deal to farewell : the domestic tribulations of Truman's second term -- The Korean War -- Liking Ike : domestic politics in Eisenhower's first term, 1953-1956 -- The uneasy mantle of a major power : foreign policy, 1953-1956 -- People of plenty : the transformation of American society -- Other Americans : the rights and plights of citizens -- The tube and the big screen : television and movies -- The nonconformist fifties : the arts and popular culture during the Cold War -- Foreign policy at the dawn of the Space Age, 1957-1960 -- The end of the Ike age.
"The 1950s evoke images of prosperity, suburbia, a smiling President Eisenhower, cars with elaborate tail fins, Elvis Presley, Marilyn Monroe, and the 'golden age' of television--seemingly a simpler time in which the idealized family life of situation comedies had at least some basis in reality. A closer examination, however, recalls more threatening images: the hysteria of McCarthyism, the shadow of the atomic bomb, war in Korea, the Soviet threat manifested in the launch of Sputnik and the bombast of Nikita Khrushchev, and clashes over the integration of public buses in Montgomery, Alabama, and a high school in Little Rock, Arkansas. Andrew J. Dunar successfully shows how the issues confronting America in the late twentieth century have roots in the fifties, some apparent at the time, others only in retrospect: civil rights, environmentalism, the counterculture, and 'movements' on behalf of women, Chicanos, and Native Americans. The rise of the 'Beats, ' the continuing development of jazz, the emergence of rock 'n' roll, and the art of Jackson Pollock reveal the decade to be less conformist than commonly portrayed. While the cold war rivalry with the Soviet Union generated the most concern, Dunar skillfully illustrates how the rise of Nasser in Egypt, Castro in Cuba, and Communist regimes in North Korea, Vietnam, and China signaled new regional challenges to American power."

This book provides a stimulating account of the dominant cultural forms of 1950s America: fiction and poetry; theatre and performance; film and television; music and radio; and the visual arts. Through detailed commentary and focused case studies of influential texts and events - from Invisible Manto West Side Story, from Disneyland to the Seattle World's Fair, from Rear Windowto The Americans- the book examines the way in which modernism and the cold war offer two frames of reference for understanding the trajectory of postwar culture. The two core aims of this volume are to chart the changing complexion of American culture in the years following World War II and to provide readers with a critical investigation of 'the 1950s'. The book provides an intellectual context for approaching 1950s American culture and considers the historical impact of the decade on recent social and cultural developments. Key Features: * Focused case studies featuring key texts, genres, writers, artists and cultural trends* Chronology of 1950s American Culture* Bibliographies for each chapter* over twenty illustrations

The best of times: 1950-1959 -- Icons of an era: unforgettable people -- Living the good life: in the suburban promised land -- The red threat: the Cold War and the bomb -- America's dream machines: the heyday of car culture -- The fight for equal rights: a new assault on Old Jim Crow -- Art and entertainment: leisure comes of age -- Television's golden age: hooked on the tube -- Sport's decade of change: no more waiting till next year.
Examines the politics, suburbia, automobiles, art and entertainment, cold war, television, and sports of the 1950s.

Placing the era firmly within the American experience, this reference illuminates what daily life was really like in the 1950s, including for people from the "Other America"--those outside the prosperous, white middle class. 'Daily Life in 1950s America shows that the era was anything but uneventful. Apart from revolutionary changes during the decade itself, it was in the 1950s that the seeds took root for the social turmoil of the 1960s and the technological world of today. The book's interdisciplinary format looks at the domestic, economic, intellectual, material, political, recreational, and religious life of average Americans. Readers can look at sections separately according to their interests or classroom assignment, or can read them as an ongoing narrative. By entering the homes of average Americans, far from the corridors of power, we can make sense of the 1950s and see how the headlines of the era translated into their daily lives. This readable and informative book is ideal for anyone interested in this formative decade in American life. Well-researched factual material is presented in an engaging way, along with lively sidebars to humanize each section. It is unique in blending the history, popular culture, and sociology of American daily life, including those of Americans who were not white, middle class, and prosperous. Illustrates how a seemingly uneventful decade defined today's world Includes helpful historical overview for each section by placing it in context Contains academic references and suggestions for further reading in each section Illuminates the era's tastes through appendices of 1950s slang, award-winners, and best-sellers Leads readers toward other works to broaden their understanding in a bibliography

Here are the major events of the decade, for every day and in every field-world developments, U.S. affairs, culture, sports, and science.

The Fifties is a sweeping social, political, economic, and cultural history of the ten years that Halberstam regards as seminal in determining what our nation is today. Halberstam offers portraits of not only the titans of the age: Eisenhower Dulles, Oppenheimer, MacArthur, Hoover, and Nixon, but also of Harley Earl, who put fins on cars; Dick and Mac McDonald and Ray Kroc, who mass-produced the American hamburger; Kemmons Wilson, who placed his Holiday Inns along the nation's roadsides; U-2 pilot Gary Francis Powers; Grace Metalious, who wrote Peyton Place; and "Goody" Pincus, who led the team that invented the Pill.

New York Times bestselling author Kelley Armstrong returns with the tenth installment of the Women of the Otherworld series. The Alaskan wilderness is a harsh landscape in the best of conditions, but with a pack of rogue werewolves on the loose, it’s downright deadly. Elena Michaels, the Pack’s chief enforcer, knows all too well the havoc “mutts” can wreak. When they hear of a series of gruesome maulings and murders outside Anchorage, she and her husband, Clay, journey to Alaska in the dead of winter in order to hunt down the dangerous werewolves. Trapped in this savage, untamed winter realm, she and Clay learn more about their own werewolf heritage than they bargained for, tapping a little more into the wild nature of the beast within. With Elena back in the starring role, this is the book Kelley Armstrong fans have been waiting for. From the Hardcover edition.

Everyday America -- World of Youth -- Food -- Travel and Transportation -- Advertising -- Fashion -- Fads, Games, Toys, and Sports -- Literature -- Visual Arts -- Architecture -- Music -- Performing Arts -- Television -- Prices for Selected Items in the 1950s and Timeline of Events in Popular Culture.

Fulfills the standards: "Culture," "Individuals, Groups, and Institutions," "Power, Authority, and Governance," and "Science, Technology, and Society" from the National Council for the Social Studies Curriculum Standards for High School.Fulfills the standards: "Chronological Thinking," "Historical Comprehension," "Historical Analysis and Interpretation," and "Historical Research Capabilities" from the National History Education Standards for American History, Grades 5-12.

Anthology of Front pages from the NY Times for the decade. Beginning with the reports of the upcoming inauguration of President John F. Kennedy and VP Lyndon B. Johnson, the ongoing fight for civil rights, and unmanned space flights. the Times (1960 daily 5 cents, Sunday 25 cents) and ending with a Front Page of the second Manned Lunar Landing Congress clearing Nixon to institute the Draft Lottery by Presidential Decree, and a mention of a USIA film about Nixon's "Silent Majority" of Supporters, The Times (1969 daily 10 cents, Sunday 50 cents) reports "All the News Fit to Print." Introduction by Tom Wicker. Note: Front pages reproduced from 35mm microfilm, not originals.

In America in the Sixties, Greene goes beyond the clichés and synthesizes thirty years of research, writing, and teaching on one of the most turbulent decades of the twentieth century. Greene sketches the well-known players of the period--John F. Kennedy, Lyndon B. Johnson, Martin Luther King Jr., Malcolm X, and Betty Friedan--bringing each to life with subtle detail. He introduces the reader to lesser-known incidents of the decade and offers fresh and persuasive insights on many of its watershed events. Combining an engrossing narrative with intelligent analysis, America in the Sixties enriches our understanding of that pivotal era.

This book charts the changing complexion of American culture in one of the most culturally vibrant of twentieth-century decades. It provides a vivid account of the major cultural forms of 1960s America - music and performance; film and television; fiction and poetry; art and photography - as well as influential texts, trends and figures of the decade: from Norman Mailer to Susan Sontag; from Muhammad Ali's anti-war protests to Tom Lehrer's stand-up comedy; from Bob Dylan to Rachel Carson; and from Pop Art to photojournalism. A chapter on new social movements demonstrates that a current of conservatism runs through even the most revolutionary movements of the 1960s and the book as a whole looks to the West and especially to the South in the making of the sixties as myth and as history. Key Features:* Focused case studies featuring key texts, genres, writers, artists and cultural trends* Detailed chronology of 1960s American culture* Bibliographies for each chapter* Over 30 black and white illustrations

There has never been a decade quite like the '60s, and the diversity, conflicts, hope and anger that characterized those years are all captured here.

The Encyclopedia of Sixties Cool profiles over 250 of the most intriguing personalities of the 1960s. The men and women covered in the book include a wide range of celebrities--from well-known superstars (the Beatles, Dustin Hoffman, Muhammad Ali) to lesser-known icons (Nico, Terry Southern, Bo Belinsky)--who had a significant impact on popular culture. The figures include musicians, actors, directors, artists, athletes, politicians, writers, astronauts . . . anyone and everyone who made the sixties the most influential decade of the twentieth century! Over 200 vintage photographs and more than fifty sidebars are featured throughout the text. The sidebars include lists of Best Picture winners, great quarterbacks, Playmates of the Year, memorable TV theme songs, favorite toys, Disneyland rides, Wimbledon champions, groovy screen cars, surf stars, Indy 500 winners, cool cartoons, sci-fi classics, Bond girls, "bubblegum” hits, beach-movie cameos, and legendary concerts. A "what happened on this day” calendar highlighting landmark events in the lives of those profiled appears on every page. Entertaining and enlightening, The Encyclopedia of Sixties Cool is truly a celebration of the grooviest people, events, and artifacts of the 1960s!

ixties Timeline; Introduction: Why Read about the 1960's at the Turn of the Twenty-first Century?; The Movement We Helped to Make; "Of This Generation": The New Left and the Student Movement; Vietnam War Mythology and the Rise of Public Cynicism; Running Battle: Washington's War at Home; Lyndon Johnson and the Roots of Contemporary Conservatism; Negroes No More: The Emergence of Black Student Activism; Everything Seemed Beautiful: A Life in the Counterculture; Politics as Art, Art as Politics: The Freedom Singers, the Living Theatre, and Public Performance
Sources of the Second Wave: The Rebirth of Feminism Placing Gay in the Sixties
This study examines the gulf between the history and mythology that has grown up around different aspects of the 1960's, ranging from the counterculture to gay rights, to the student and women's movements, and to the Johnson presidency.

In this work, Judy Kutulas complicates the common view that the 1970s were a time of counterrevolution against the radical activities and attitudes of the previous decade. Instead, Kutulas argues that the experiences and attitudes that were radical in the 1960s were becoming part of mainstream culture in the 1970s, as sexual freedom, gender equality, and more complex notions of identity, work, and family were normalized through popular culture - television, movies, music, political causes, and the emergence of new communities. Seemingly mundane things like watching 'The Mary Tyler Moore Show', listening to Carole King songs, donning Birkenstock sandals, or reading 'Roots' were actually critical in shaping Americans' perceptions of themselves, their families, and their relation to authority.

The 1970s was one of the most culturally vibrant periods in American history. This book discusses the dominant cultural forms of the 1970s - fiction and poetry; television and drama; film and visual culture; popular music and style; public space and spectacle - and the decade's most influential practitioners and texts: from Toni Morrison to All in the Family, from Diane Arbus to Bruce Springsteen, from M.A.S.H.to Taxi Driverand from disco divas to Vietnam protesters. In response to those who consider the seventies the time of disco, polyester and narcissism, this book rewrites the critical engagement with one of America's most misunderstood decades.Key Features*Focused case studies featuring key texts and influential writers, artists, directors and musicians*Chronology of 1970s American Culture*Bibliographies for each chapter and a general bibliography on 1970s Culture*14 black-and-white illustrations

From Kent State to the Soviet invasion of Afghanistan, this two-volume set chronicles all the events, trends, and people that made the '70s a watershed decade of great turbulence and change.

For many, the 1970s evoke the Brady Bunch and the birth of disco. In this first, thematic popular history of the decade, David Frum argues that it was the 1970s, not the 1960s, that created modern America and altered the American personality forever. A society that had valued faith, self-reliance, self-sacrifice, and family loyalty evolved in little more than a decade into one characterized by superstition, self-interest, narcissism, and guilt. Frum examines this metamorphosis through the rise to cultural dominance of faddish psychology, astrology, drugs, religious cults, and consumer debt, and profiles such prominent players of the decade as Werner Erhard, Alex Comfort, and Jerry Brown. How We Got Here is lively and provocative reading.

The Seventies is must reading for anyone who wants to revisit that glam decade and the contributions it made to our culture. The contributors take you on a fascinating journey that looks at the Black Panthers, Jonestown, glam rock, black action films and gay male subcultures as well as including queer rereadings of cultural phenomena, examinations of clothing and seventies bodies, and an essay on the meaning of sound in the seventies.

During the past two decades, the 1970s have been trivialized, misunderstood, or dismissed as having kitsch value only. But as we move into a new millennium, the seventies are passing from pop culture into history. Bruce Schulman, the first historian to grapple with the seventies, here provides the only comprehensive history of America between 1968 and 1984. He argues persuasively that the "long decade" -- from Nixon's election to Reagan's reelection -- involved a crucial cultural and political shift. Beginning with Richard Nixon's "southern" strategy in 1968, to the rise of the Sunbelt cities and the explosion of country music, the 1970s saw the decline of the North's cultural dominance. By the end of the decade, the South had shed its rural, agricultural heritage and erased its reputation as hopelessly backward and impoverished. A transformed, commercialized southern white culture flourished and spread across the country. In an engaging blend of anecdote and analysis, Changes in Latitude provides the first real assessment of these crucial years, and the ways in which they changed America forever.

This anthology chronicles major events of the 1980s, from the election of Ronald Reagan, the appearance of AIDS, and the emergence of personal computers in the beginning of the decade to fall of the Berlin Wall in 1989. Americans' daily lives are also examined in a chapter on the social trends and popular culture of the 1980s.

This book looks beyond the common label of 'Ronald Reagan's America' to chart the complex intersection of cultures in the 1980s. In doing so it provides an insightful account of the major cultural forms of 1980s America - literature and drama; film and television; music and performance; art and photography - and influential texts and trends of the decade: from White Noiseto Wall Street, from Silicon Valley to MTV, and from Madonna to Cindy Sherman. A focused chapter considers the changing dynamics of American culture in an increasingly globalised marketplace. Key Features: * Focused case studies featuring key texts, genres, writers, artists and cultural trends* Detailed chronology of 1980s American culture* Bibliographies for each chapter* Twelve black and white illustrations

The decade's major political, social, and cultural shifts are documented in two easy-to-use volumes.

Introduction: the end of the 1980s -- America in the Gulf and Bush's limited domestic agenda, 1990-1992 -- The 1992 campaign, why Bush lost, and how Clinton won -- The domestic Clinton, 1993-1996 -- The United States and genocide -- Prosperity and poverty in an age of global capitalism -- Science and technology -- Pop culture -- Race relations -- LGBT and women's rights -- Conclusion: the Clinton administration, 1996-2000.

American Culture in the 1990s focuses on the dramatic cultural transformations of the last decade of the millennium. Lodged between the fall of Communism and the outbreak of the War on Terror, the 1990s was witness to America's expanding influence across the world but also a period of anxiety and social conflict. National traumas such as the Los Angeles riots, the Oklahoma City bombing and the impeachment of President Clinton lend an apocalyptic air to the decade, but the book looks beyond this to a wider context to identify new voices emerging in the nation.This is one of the first attempts to bring together developments taking place across a range of different fields: from Microsoft to the Internet, from blank fiction to gangsta rap, from abject art to new independent cinema, and from postfeminism to posthumanism. Students of American culture and general readers will find this a lively and illuminating introduction to a complex and immensely varied decade.

The Persian Gulf War and the end of the cold war; the invention of the World Wide Web and the introduction of the Euro currency; the launching of the Hubble space telescope and "Dolly," the cloned sheep; the repeal of apartheid in South Africa and nuclear weapons tests in India and Pakistan; ethnic violence in the Balkans and genocide in Rwanda—these and other momentous events defined the last decade of the 20th century. Day by Day: The Nineties brings the past decade to life, listing the major events as they unfolded each day from January 1, 1990, to December 31, 1999. Providing researchers of all ages with a complete, accessible chronology documenting the major events of the period, this comprehensive two-volume set is an invaluable addition to any library. Day by Day: The Nineties offers a unique perspective of the social, economic, political, and cultural issues that defined the decade. Each of the 10 sections helps readers see what happened, how it developed, and what its repercussions were in the broadest terms while also providing focused, easy access to thematic information. The sections detail important events in world affairs; look at major happenings in regions throughout the world; bring out issues in U.S. politics, society, foreign policy and defense, as well as the economy and environment; and deal with milestones in science, technology, nature, culture, leisure, and lifestyle. A must for every school and public library, Day by Day: The Nineties provides a detailed account of the history-making events of the 1990s.