East Asia Since 1600

UNI search engine for books and articles.
For books change the "Material Type" option from "All items" to "Books" to turn OneSearch into the library catalog and look for books owned by Rod Library. To find primary materials set your search or results ("Publication Date") to the specific years of your study. Recently published books may also contain primary source material in the form of quotes, diaries, and letters.

Search the full text of over 30 million books.
Full view prior to 1929 and limited preview afterwards.

HathiTrust contains millions pre-1929 books.
Use Advanced full-text search and Advanced catalog search.

Over 10 million digitized texts (e.g. books, magazines).
One of the few archives to offer very high quality color images of older publications.

Some coverage of British newspapers. Use the "Advanced Search" option beneath the search blanks. Advanced Search will allow you to limit by date and location.

Search for primary sources from 1735 to 1850.
British and American newspaper and magazine articles.

Consider using "Advanced Search"

The Library of Congress has archived over 3,000 different U.S. historical newspapers from 1800 to 1963. There are nearly 100 Iowa newspapers available dating from 1836 to 1924.

Advanced Search will also allow you to search for articles that contain two words that are within a specified number of words of each other.

Advanced Search allows searching of a specific newspaper.
Advanced Search can be focused by date/year, by Front page or specific page, and language.
Advanced Search can be focused by looking for “Any” one of multiple words entered, “All” of the words entered, a specific “Phrase”.

Browse papers by choosing “All Digitized Newspapers” option and then limiting by state or ethnicity or language.

(Note - this is NOT the London Times)
Use "Advanced Search" dropdown-menu search options such as: Document Title (article titles), Subject, and for particularly hard-to-find topics "Entire Document"

Good coverage of international events.
Searches can be limited by date.
Results can be limited to articles, editorials, cartoons, advertisements.

Use Advanced Search to improve your search.
Limit search results to magazines or newspapers (the default is Academic Journals).

Primary news sources for modern history. Limit your results by publication date either before or after you search. (More techniques for searching Nexis Uni)

British Magazine
Use "Advanced Search"
Advanced Search dropdown-menu search options include:
Document Title (article titles), Subject, and for particularly hard-to-find topics "Entire Document"

Business and extensive world news coverage.
Use "Advanced Search"

Major news magazine of the 20th century with good coverage of international events.

Search the full text of hundreds of magazines.
Full view prior to 1929 and limited preview afterwards.

HathiTrust contains hundreds of pre-1929 magazines. Use Advanced full-text search and then limit results using the "Serial" option on the bottom left-hand side of the results page.