Freely Available History Resources

"A quarterly, peer-reviewed journal of history published by the State Historical Society of Iowa." --- State Historical Society of Iowa - University of Iowa's Institutional Repository

This national newspaper archive from the Library of Congress provides brief runs of newspapers from Burlington, Cedar County (Tipton), Cedar Falls, Charles City, Council Bluffs, Cresco, Davenport, Decorah, Denison, Des Moines, Dubuque, Howard County, Iowa City, Keokuk, Knoxville, Leon, Manchester, Marshalltown, McGregor, Missouri Valley, Muscatine, Oskaloosa, Ottumwa, Quasqueton, Sioux City, Tama County, and Webster City

"The Goldfinch : Iowa History for Young People was published quarterly by the State Historical Society of Iowa from 1975-2000. It is an Iowa history magazine for children, ages 8 to 13. Each issue focuses on a theme (ranging from Immigrants to Diaries, from Home and Family to Iowa’s Kid Heroes) and includes articles, games, photos, and fiction." --- State Historical Society of Iowa - University of Iowa's Institutional Repository

Archives of digitized yearbooks and student newspapers from twenty different Iowa colleges and universities. Includes links Iowa college and university digital collections.

"IndexUNI is Rod Library's online index of articles from official campus publications, dating from 1876 to the present." --- UNI Special Collections & University Archives

"Iowa Heritage Illustrated was a quarterly historical magazine published the State Historical Society of Iowa beginning with vol.77 no.1, spring 1996. It continued The Palimpsest. The last issue was vol.93 no.2, Summer 2014." --- State Historical Society of Iowa - University of Iowa's Institutional Repository

Hundreds individual historical newspaper archives covering towns and counties from across Iowa.
All freely available to the public.

"The Iowa Homemaker was founded by the Home Economics Club in 1921. It was the first magazine on Iowa State campus written by women for women. The Iowa Homemaker covers a wide range of issues from “Canning Early Fruits and Vegetables” to “Can a Homemaker be a Citizen?” It contains the excited energy of women trying to find their place in early twentieth century Iowa, and it offers a unique perspective on the history of Iowa State." --- Iowa State University - Parks Library

The Palimpsest was a historical magazine published the State Historical Society of Iowa from 1920 to 1996. It was continued by Iowa Heritage Illustrated.

“The Daily Iowan began publishing under this name on September 21, 1901. It was preceded by four other student-produced newspapers: the University Reporter (1868-81), the Vidette (1879-81), the Vidette-Reporter (1881-1901), and the University Mirror (1888).” --- University of Iowa Libraries, Special Collections.

"The Iowa Digital Library features more than a million digital objects created from the holdings of the University of Iowa Libraries and its campus partners." --- Iowa University Libraries

Welcome to the Primary Source Sets libguide, created for you by Special Collections & University Archives and UNI Museum at Rod Library. In this guide, you will find digital copies of primary sources from various SC&UA and Museum collections organized by topic. These topics include Immigration / Migration, Black Experiences in Iowa, American Indians in the Midwest, Elections and Campaigns, and Women's History.

The purpose of UNI ScholarWorks is to collect, preserve and make available the research and creative and scholarly output from the University of Northern Iowa (UNI) community. Includes the "Old Gold" (the historical UNI Yearbooks), and digitized sources from the UNI Special Collections & University Archives.

"Discover digital photographs, maps, letters, diaries, audiovisual, and more from the Iowa State University Library. Digital Collections provides free, open access to select unique materials from the library’s collections." --- Iowa State University Libraries

The State Historical Society of Iowa has been a trustee of Iowa’s historical legacy since 1857. With a dual mission of preservation and education, it maintains a museum, archives & historical libraries, preservation office, and eight historic sites.

There are other publicly available digital archives that could contain useful primary source material for your project. Focused searches using powerful Google commands can locate digital collections based on the descriptions of archives.