Research Guides: Freely Available History Resources: Free Archives

Google Books Advanced

Google Books Advanced
Search the full text of over 30 million books - many with limited preview.
Offers full access to over 100 different modern-era magazines.

HathiTrust
Contains millions of pre-1929 books.
Access more than 400,000 magazine and serial titles.
HathiTrust Advanced Search allows for more powerful searching.
Also provides access to many government publications published after 1928

Chronicling America
Publication Date: 1789-1963
"Chronicling America is a Website providing access to information about historic newspapers and select digitized newspaper pages, and is produced by the National Digital Newspaper Program ... a partnership between the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress, is a long-term effort to develop an Internet-based, searchable database of U.S. newspapers." --- Library of Congress

The Magazine Finder - Digitized Historical Magazines (freely available to the public)
Includes roughly one thousand freely available digitized historical magazines.
Consider using the freely available Poole's Index and Readers' Guides digitized by HathiTrust and listed under the 1802-1890 and 1890-1928 tabs of the Magazine Finder to identify specific articles on specific topics. (Also indicates digital, print, and microfilm formats owned by UNI Rod Library)

DPLA
Nearly 30 million archived images, texts, videos, and sounds.
Collection strengths include: American Civil War, Aviation, Baseball, Civil Rights, Food, Immigration, Photography, and Women in Science.

Historical Newspapers from other States
Digitized historical newspapers from state archives (freely available), Chronicling America (freely available), and Newspaper Archive (UNI only)

Iowa Digitized Historical Newspapers
Hundreds of historical newspapers from towns and counties across Iowa. All freely available to the public.

The Black Press: Historical Black Magazines and Newspapers
This site provides links to the archives of ten Black historical magazines and over one hundred African American historical newspapers. This website also includes histories of the individual newspapers and magazines as well as the history of Black journalism.

Internet Archive
Over 10 million digitized texts (e.g. books, magazines).
Internet Archive also provides access to archived videos, images, and audio files.

Europeana
Europeana Collections provides access to over 50 million digitised items – books, music, artworks and more – with sophisticated search and filter tools to help you find what you’re looking for. Our dedicated thematic collections on art, fashion, music, photography and World War I contain galleries, blogs and exhibitions to inform and inspire." --- europeana

JSTOR Early Journal Content
JSTOR Early Journal Content provides free access to articles published prior to 1929 in the United States and prior to 1870 elsewhere. JSTOR provides free access to more modern open access journal articles.