HIST 4420 / 5420 - History of Ireland - Connors

Scattering of Dublin papers primarily from the 18th and early 19th century

Magazines published from 1802 to 1890, and digitized by university libraries (HathiTrust), the Internet Archive or Google (Google Books), are generally freely available to the public. While it is possible to locate articles by browsing or searching these options, indexes of magazine articles - arranged by subject - were compiled in the 19th century and published as Poole's Index to Periodical Literature

Readers' Guide and Nineteenth Century Readers' Guide
Magazines published from 1890 to 1929, and digitized by university libraries (HathiTrust), the Internet Archive or Google (Google Books), are generally freely available to the public. While it is possible to locate articles by browsing or searching these options, indexes of magazine articles - arranged by subject - were compiled during this time period by Poole's Index to Periodical Literature (1892-1906), the Nineteenth Century Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature (1890-1899), and a series of twentieth century indexes known as the Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature (1900-1928).

For online articles published pre-1930 Magazine Finder provides online access to your article via either an archive or a database.
For print articles (mostly published after 1929) Magazine Finder provides the call number to the volumes of the magazine found in the library basement (first floor of Rod Library). Specific instructions are available for finding magazine articles from various time periods: 1802-1890, 1890-1929, 1930-1982, and 1982-present.

(Note, Time, Life, Fortune and National Geographic have their own searchable archives below).