Research Guides: Research in Education : Books and Dissertations

Databases for Locating Books, Theses, and Dissertations

Databases for Finding eBooks and Print Books

Use these databases to search for books owned by UNI and other universities.

eBook Academic Collection (EBSCOhost)
Approximately 200,000 ebooks for your consideration.
Set the dropdown menu to "TX All Text Fields" to search the full text of each book.

Ebook Central (ProQuest)
Full text searching of roughly 200,000 full-text books.
Advanced search allows for search by subject, author, and title.

OneSearch
For books change the "Material Type" option from "All items" to "Books" to turn OneSearch into the library catalog and look for books owned by Rod Library.

WorldCat
Search library catalogs throughout the world.
Use Interlibrary Loan to request books not owned by the Rod Library.

Theses and Dissertations

Use these databases to access the theses and dissertations written at UNI and other universities.

UNI ScholarWorks
All UNI graduate programs require a culmination work, such as a dissertation, thesis, or graduate research paper, before awarding a graduate degree. This collection includes theses and dissertations submitted electronically. From this page, you can browse our theses and dissertations by academic department or by the year of completion. Some theses and dissertations are not eligible for open access.

UNI ScholarWorks (UNI Theses and Dissertations)

Searching UNI ScholarWorks for theses and dissertations:

Type in your search. e.g. "cooperative learning"

Limit the results on the left-hand side of the results page by Publication Type = Theses/Dissertations

Accessing theses and dissertations in UNI ScholarWorks:

Click on the title of a thesis.

Click on Download (if Off-Campus Download is an option and you're off-campus click on that option instead).

If no download option is available and you're on campus (or plan to visit campus) copy the title of the thesis and past it into OneSearch - search - and retrieve the call number for the thesis which may be located in the UNI Stacks (4th floor).