Research Guides: Library Research Training: Module 5

In this module, you will learn how to find resources in general databases, use citation guides, and locate DOIs (Digital Object Identifiers).

After completing this module, you will be able to:

identify different types of databases (e.g., general and subject databases) to select the most appropriate type to meet a research need.
filter by subject in Databases A-Z to discover relevant databases (including Best Bets) and the expert librarian's contact information.
craft complex searches using Boolean operators and truncation, use limiters (e.g., Title, Source Type, Full Text) to narrow search results, discover topic-based resources, identify permalinks for stable access, and retrieve generated citations in Academic Search Elite and GALE ACADEMIC ONEFILE.
define citation and describe why citations are an important step in the research process and scholarly conversation.
find citation information for popular citation styles in the Cite Your Sources guide and Purdue OWL.
discover DOIs of known articles in Crossref.org, the official DOI registry.
identify and accurately format DOIs in common citation styles used at UNI (APA and MLA).

Need help or have a question? Contact Claire Bowling (claire.bowling@uni.edu).

General Databases Tutorial

General Databases Tutorial
This tutorial will introduce you to two general databases, Academic Search Elite and GALE ACADEMIC ONEFILE. We will cover subject databases in greater depth in the next module.

Citation Resources

We do not expect you to memorize each citation style! We do expect you to be able to consult citation resources to answer basic citation questions.

Remember, you can always refer any question to a librarian (including citation questions!).

Cite Your Sources Guide
This guide was developed by librarians at UNI and contains resources for popular citation styles including online guides, sample papers, and style guides available in the library.
Purdue OWL
Purdue OWL (Online Writing Lab) houses APA, MLA, and Chicago online citation guides. Find information about formatting in-text citations, citing physical and digital resources, sample papers and more!

DOIs (Digital Object Identifiers)

DOI Tutorial
In this tutorial, you will learn how to retrieve DOIs (Digital Object Identifiers) for citations.
Purdue OWL: URLs vs. DOIs
An essential guide for knowing how to format DOIs in APA, MLA, Chicago, and AMA. Also includes information on what to do if no DOI is available.

Directions:

This week, we will find a resource (e.g., scholarly article, book, news article, magazine, video, etc) in Academic Search Elite or GALE ACADEMIC ONEFILE on a topic of your choice.

In your discussion post, include:

Your name and unit in the Title section.
Your search terms in the Body section.
A brief explanation your search steps in the Body section - What database did you select? What filters (e.g., full text, source type, publication date) did you use?
A permalink to your resource using the link option in Padlet (step-by-step instructions).

Need help finding a topic? Check out Britannica Academic Article Browse!

(Full page version)