Research Guides: Library Research Training: Module 6

In this module, you will learn how to find resources in subject databases and essential databases for your research toolkit.

After completing this module, you will be able to:

articulate the purpose and discipline focus of four popular subject databases (APA PsycINFO, JSTOR, PubMed, and ERIC (EBSCO)).
discover topic-based articles, use limiters to narrow search results, identify permalinks for stable access, and retrieve generated citations in APA PsycINFO, JSTOR, PubMed, and ERIC (EBSCO).
determine the availability of known items in nearby libraries using WorldCat.
find practice exams, access live tutoring, and submit writing assignments to the Writing Lab in Brainfuse.
ascertain the peer-review status of a known journal in Ulrichsweb.

Need help or have a question? Contact Claire Bowling (claire.bowling@uni.edu).

Some library databases do not fall under the general or subject database categories but are essential for your research toolkit. Many of these do not fit the "find an article or book" mold, instead providing unique resources (e.g., overview of current topics) or services (e.g., live tutoring or research paper review).

Brainfuse
Online tutoring and job seeker service.
WorldCat
A global catalog of library collections.
UlrichsWeb
A collection of detailed information about more than 300,000 scholarly journals, popular magazines, newspapers, newsletters, and more!

Directions:

This week, we will find a resource (e.g., a scholarly article, book, news article, magazine, video, etc.) in APA PsycINFO, JSTOR, PubMed, or ERIC (EBSCO). In your discussion post, include:

Your name and unit in the Title section.
Your search terms in the Body section.
A brief explanation your search steps in the Body section - What database did you select? Did you use any of the topic finding resources? What filters (e.g., full text, source type, publication date) did you use?
A permalink to your resource using the link option in Padlet (step-by-step instructions).

Need help finding a topic?

APA PsychINFO: Browse Psychology in Britannica Academic
JSTOR: Browse by Subject in JSTOR or Arts & Literature in Britannica Academic
PubMed: Browse Health topics in MedlinePlus.
ERIC (EBSCO): Browse Education topics in Britannica Academic.

(Full page version)