Assessment (Internal Use Only)

• Audiences of the ACRL survey and UNI FactBook are different.
• Current stats are not necessarily useful nor up-to-date. Also, it does not show the characteristics of our actual collection.
• Following ACRL definitions (as closely as possible), as compared to internal Alma Analytics, is not necessarily effective and efficient in collecting consistent stats over time.

• To propose a new set of up-to-date stats that are easy to be collected but still meaningful to our library and our audiences (non-librarian audiences)
• What will be the most effective and efficient way to figure out the characteristics of our collections in terms of format and content (subject)? For example, will there be any way to rank # of our collections by format and content (subject) within a given year?

Alma Analytics

How about running a query in Alma Analytics utilizing "Material Type," "LC Classification," (or "Dewey Classification"), and "Title" from a list of Bibliographic Details? We should select "format" ("Material Type") over other variables, given that stats in FactBook are based on format and additional variables can provide us with useful insights

Paula C. (11/6/20)

• Material type - the material type is what is used to pull the stats for physical books, Maps, microform, etc.  Material type is the basis for the collection statistics provided for ACRL and the campus.  
• LC Classification.  I have attached an Analytic report for the classifications in our collections.  Unknown - these are problem call numbers: They are not included in the LC classification outline used by Ex Libris for this report; they are coded incorrectly in the holdings record; they are formatted incorrectly in the holdings record.  [This is a know issue and we work on it as we can.]
• Dewey classifications - UNI Youth does not use a true Dewey format so these are coded as Dewey, but will not report out because they are not formatted as a Dewey number.  Same goes for the other collections.  Math Lab Dewey numbers are coded incorrectly in the holdings, this has been reported to CMU.  This problem with Youth call numbers is something I have brought up repeatedly with Susan and Clint but the problem is no closer to evaluation and resolution.  Perhaps there really isn't anything to be done, but it might be more helpful to code them as Other rather than Dewey. 

Paula C. (12/17/20)

Here are two sheets I have worked on for the print volumes sorted according to the LC Classification outline.  This only is for the LC Classed items, not those materials in other classification schedules such as the Youth number, Su Doc or other (such as Archive and Title sorts). 

• UNI Print volumes by LC Class Group  -  This is with the predefined 'Groups' that Ex Libris has based on the LC outline, so stats cannot be pulled on items NOT in LC.  Dewey is available too, but so many of our items are not structured in correct Dewey format or are really an author sort, that the Dewey group simply ends up with a lot of unknowns.  The LC groups is the only one that gives fairly good results.  I cannot get anything for SuDoc number as those are not based on a subject criteria. 

• UNI Print volumes All permanent UNI locations with LC CLASS  - for this, I have managed the unknown items and dropped them into the corresponding LC Class area.  I have also added in the Host Bibliographic call numbers that are not automatically picked up in the initial search for technical reasons (bib suppression impacts the results). 

• I cannot recall the context for "#s of items by Material Type (with the reduced #s of "Material Type" by Alma Analytics)" - I did create a report for all items in the permanent locations by the material type.  But I am not sure that is what we were getting at.  Sorry.  Let me know if I missed the point on this and I can work on it some more.  

  UNI Physical items by Material type (ALL)

• Now that I have this part done, I will turn my attention on what we can pull up for LC classification and our eresources.  This is not dealing with locally cataloged material as the bibliographic records for the electronic resources come from other sources, such as Vendor records and the Alma Community Zone.  I am not sure I can pull enough data on Classification to make this a worthwhile report.  I might look and see if someone else has worked on reports grouping these by broad subject area.....Not sure how they would do that though, without the classification numbers in place!  Maybe we can turn to the provider of the titles to show what is available by subject group??  I can ask Jeanne and Cindy F. about that and what kinds of vendor reports there are.

• UNI Physical Items by BIB material type

Gretchen G., Jeanne L., Paula C., HyunSeung K.

Guests: Janet C. & Eric J.

UNI Fact Book

https://dalnet.org/kb/more/eluna/IPEDS_handout

https://gil.usg.edu/assets/conference/documents/GUGM_2019_Using_Alma_Analytics_Library_Weeding_Project.pdf

https://www.usi.edu/planning-research-and-assessment/usi-fact-book/using-the-fact-book/