Assessment (Internal Use Only)

Requested by EMT

Initial big idea/vision:

• Develop (Involve in) a process to analyze library subscription databases on an annual basis
• Develop assessment tools and strategies to help librarians and RMU work strong statistical analytics (analytical frameworks) into an annual subscription database review process

Updated tactic:

• Provide expertise in support of RMU's consolidation of new and existing subscription database review processes into an annual and holistic analytic framework

Initial tasks:

• Meet with Stephanie K. to go over the form that she developed based on her literature review. This was presented in a recent strategist meeting.
• Meet with relevant staff to identify who does what (currently) in this process and how that fits into the larger goal of making this your area of expertise moving forward.

Specific tasks:

• Gathering the data - which may be done by you and require training/education but also may be done by colleagues.
• Presenting data gathered - done with individual strategists and/or liaisons, the larger strategist group, or library administrators
• Analyze and interpret data - which may include making recommendations, when necessary, as part of presentations.

• How can our library connect our collection to the needs and wants of our campus & community members in a holistic manner?
• How can individual collection strategists make their better decisions on the (de)selection of library journals/databases in a collective manner but still keeping being flexible with their freedom/subjectivity?

A link to the first mockup (ranking with a grid)

A link to the second mockup (ranking with a dropdown menu)

A link to the final report

An internal libguide that has instructions & resources (?)

A "collection" calendar (?)

• A comprehensive list of criteria by Stephanie
• An experimental project (SPG21) by HSK
• Database Expenditures.xlsx

Identify key parameters of key players of collection, users, and strategists to be considered to help our library make a better collective decision on which journals/databases should be canceled/retained

• The complete collections assessment manual: A holistic approach (2021)
• Full-text databases and the journal cancellation process: A case study (2000)
• Collection analysis techniques used to evaluate a graduate-level toxicology collection (2002)
• ERM

Is the matrix approach for this project?

Can we use the same criteria for both journals and databases?